B222A - Vehicle Line Mismatch? - JeepForum.com
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By ColdCase
  • 1 Post By ColdCase
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-05-2020, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
kga1978
Registered User
 
kga1978's Avatar
2017 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 104
Garage
B222A - Vehicle Line Mismatch?

Hi folks,

I just used JScan to change the tire size on my 2017 Trailhawk from 265/60/18 to 265/65/18. After going through the whole process my Park Assist wouldn't turn on and I got a "ParkAssist Unavailable" error in the instrument cluster. After scanning the car for errors I get a B222A - Vehicle Line Mismatch specifically under the park assist module.

Any thought on how I might fix this? I didn't do anything to the park assist module when I went through the process - just changing tire size...

Thanks

kga1978 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-05-2020, 06:24 PM
ceb1
Registered User
 
ceb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by kga1978 View Post
Hi folks,

I just used JScan to change the tire size on my 2017 Trailhawk from 265/60/18 to 265/65/18. After going through the whole process my Park Assist wouldn't turn on and I got a "ParkAssist Unavailable" error in the instrument cluster. After scanning the car for errors I get a B222A - Vehicle Line Mismatch specifically under the park assist module.

Any thought on how I might fix this? I didn't do anything to the park assist module when I went through the process - just changing tire size...

Thanks
Did you change it back?
ceb1 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-05-2020, 09:28 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 17,268
It may not be the module, playing with tire sizes can sometime cause all kinds of unexpected faults. The PCM tells other modules what the vehicle line is and this DTC is probably indicating that some parameter isn't something park assist is expecting. Under normal conditions one would replace the park assist module.

It may just be a coincidence, especially if you change it back and you still get the error.
jtec likes this.

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory;
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 09-06-2020, 02:00 PM Thread Starter
kga1978
Registered User
 
kga1978's Avatar
2017 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 104
Garage
I couldn't change back to stock tire size with JScan since the exact OEM tire size wasn't one of the options . I managed to roll back to stock using AlfaOBD instead, which allowed me to clear the B222A error and get parking assist back, no problem.

It's really weird because the B222A code is directly linked to changing the tire size - as soon as I go in and change the stock 2371mm circumference to something else (I was aiming for 2453mm, but anything will do) using either JScan or AlfaOBD, the Parking Assist module throws the B222A code and turns itself off - no way to get it back, without changing the tire size back to stock.

Kinda peculiar...
kga1978 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-06-2020, 03:02 PM
jtec
Registered User
 
jtec's Avatar
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 9,797
KISS - Them puters be smart.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf B222A-00.pdf (66.3 KB, 15 views)

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.
jtec is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-06-2020, 03:20 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 17,268
If I recall correctly, there are a couple parameters that need to be changed, if you were not already aware of it. Someone posted the details around here somewhere. It was easier to do pre 2015.

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory;
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-06-2020, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
kga1978
Registered User
 
kga1978's Avatar
2017 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 104
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
If I recall correctly, there are a couple parameters that need to be changed, if you were not already aware of it. Someone posted the details around here somewhere. It was easier to do pre 2015.
Yeah, I need to clear codes and initialize ABS too to get it to work, but the code unfortunately still sticks. Very strange.

I have contacted the developers of the apps, so we'll see if they have a solution. Interestingly, it occurs as soon as I select a size => 30" - anything below and it's fine, but as soon as I go over it throws the code. Stock for the car is ~ 29.7".
kga1978 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-06-2020, 06:18 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 17,268
Unlike other vehicles with multiple possible tire sizes, the WK2 has only one OEM diameter tire, so even the dealer scan tools can't do much as a change tire menu isn't even provided. I think some here have been successful adjusting for 32s, but that may also be earlier model WK2s.
kga1978 likes this.

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory;
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-04-2021, 04:20 PM
82Renegade
Registered User
 
82Renegade's Avatar
1982 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: raleigh, nc
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by kga1978 View Post
Yeah, I need to clear codes and initialize ABS too to get it to work, but the code unfortunately still sticks. Very strange.

I have contacted the developers of the apps, so we'll see if they have a solution. Interestingly, it occurs as soon as I select a size => 30" - anything below and it's fine, but as soon as I go over it throws the code. Stock for the car is ~ 29.7".
I just did the same thing... good times. I was able to clear the ABS but not the B222A. Were you able to figure out a solution?

Thanks!
82Renegade is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-04-2021, 05:00 PM
Fast55
Registered User
 
Fast55's Avatar
2017 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ventura County USA
Posts: 637
Garage
The solution is, live with the error especially for 2015+ WK2's. Even 275/65's are only about 5% off.

2017 Trailhawk
Active Safety, Luxury group, Blind spot detection
Hemi
Rock Rails, Chief Products
Fast55 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome