Anyone swapped UAQ headunit into 2014-15 JGC? - JeepForum.com
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 Old 09-06-2018, 05:18 AM Thread Starter
bottlerocket91
Registered User
 
bottlerocket91's Avatar
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 936
Anyone swapped UAQ headunit into 2014-15 JGC?

My wife has a 2015 Limited and she's pretty let down that her vehicle isn't equipped with Android Auto. I did some searching last night and found a site that claims the UAQ head unit from the newer WK2s that have Android Auto is a simple plug and play swap along with a new USB hub. Has anyone here done such a swap with success? The maps on the factory setup are garbage and the updates are infrequent enough to make them pointless.

bottlerocket91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 Old 09-06-2018, 06:38 AM
jim_in_PA
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucks County
Posts: 1,865
Numerous folks have done the swap after obtaining the unit from Infotainment. It works fine, but there are caveats including no over the air updates, etc. It's also not sanctioned by Jeep, so if there are issues...you're on your own. This also doesn't solve your concerns with the maps updates, etc.

2012 JGC Summit Hemi
2016 Subaru Outback Limited
2011 Subaru Outback Limited
jim_in_PA is offline  
post #3 of 48 Old 09-06-2018, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
bottlerocket91
Registered User
 
bottlerocket91's Avatar
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim_in_PA View Post
Numerous folks have done the swap after obtaining the unit from Infotainment. It works fine, but there are caveats including no over the air updates, etc. It's also not sanctioned by Jeep, so if there are issues...you're on your own. This also doesn't solve your concerns with the maps updates, etc.
Google maps navigation easily solves my concerns for map updates. Thanks!
bottlerocket91 is offline  
 
post #4 of 48 Old 09-06-2018, 12:29 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 17,496
Infotainment sells good stuff, expensive but works well. A lot of them out there. Good customer support.

There are less expensive options if the only thing you want to do is mirror your phone's display, but I think Infotainment is the only way for full touchscreen functionality.

I think they will buy your old radio back to ease the pain a bit.

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory;
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #5 of 48 Old 09-06-2018, 02:53 PM Thread Starter
bottlerocket91
Registered User
 
bottlerocket91's Avatar
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Infotainment sells good stuff, expensive but works well. A lot of them out there. Good customer support.

There are less expensive options if the only thing you want to do is mirror your phone's display, but I think Infotainment is the only way for full touchscreen functionality.

I think they will buy your old radio back to ease the pain a bit.
Do they do anything special or is it just a UAQ unit? They seem to be all over eBay for around half of what infotainment wants
bottlerocket91 is offline  
post #6 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 05:43 AM
NicRuf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
Does Anybody know if Jeep will do a similar upgrade for you? If infotainment is basically selling the actual unit from the 2018 would keep also do it and possibly support it? I’m sure their fee would be higher.
NicRuf is offline  
post #7 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 06:18 AM
NicRuf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
I looked on the Mopar site, didn't see anything. Although it seems to say there are no parts in any category I look at so I may be doing something wrong.
NicRuf is offline  
post #8 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 06:27 AM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 17,496
They have to fiddle with the radio firmware a bit to keep the Jeep computer software happy, something Jeep doesn't seem to be interested doing.

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory;
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #9 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 06:44 AM
NicRuf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
Crazy. Seems like they are leaving a lot of money on the table given Apple/Android carplay popularity these days. I would think they would get a lot of takers.
NicRuf is offline  
post #10 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 07:03 AM
jim_in_PA
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucks County
Posts: 1,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicRuf View Post
Does Anybody know if Jeep will do a similar upgrade for you? If infotainment is basically selling the actual unit from the 2018 would keep also do it and possibly support it? Im sure their fee would be higher.
No, they will not. This swap isn't "approved" by Jeep and since it actually doesn't work "fully" (no OTA stuff, etc.) they wouldn't install it because they can't warrant it to work completely to sepc. It does happen to function in the MY14+ vehicles enough that some folks have opted to swap it in after purchasing from Infotainment.

Folks always have the option to go third party for AA/CP compatible head unit with a Maestro interface, too, as an alternative to the UAQ.

2012 JGC Summit Hemi
2016 Subaru Outback Limited
2011 Subaru Outback Limited
jim_in_PA is offline  
post #11 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 07:47 AM
NicRuf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
I'm considering getting it. I watched the Youtube video on the installation, doesn't seem very hard.

The biggest thing you lose seems to be the uconnect app and the ability to remote start the car and the various other things that gets you.

Their website says it uses a new Sirius Guardian service to replace those things but doesn't look like you can get it to work with this upgrade.

I like the remote start from the app when I'm landing at the airport late at night, car is nice and warm and waiting for me (i travel a lot.).
NicRuf is offline  
post #12 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 11:23 AM
jim_in_PA
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucks County
Posts: 1,865
You also cannot get firmware updates OTA when the UAQ is installed in a MY14-MY17 vehicle...USB only and they are not available with any frequency that way. You also need to "find" a MY18+ VIN in order to download those updates when they actually are posted.

2012 JGC Summit Hemi
2016 Subaru Outback Limited
2011 Subaru Outback Limited
jim_in_PA is offline  
post #13 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 01:15 PM
bpsmicro
Registered User
2017 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicRuf View Post
The biggest thing you lose seems to be the uconnect app and the ability to remote start the car and the various other things that gets you.
To clarify, you only lose remote start via the uConnect app right? Normal remote start via the key fob still works?


I ask because I'm toying with this option for my '17 Overland. Being in Canada, we don't have the uConnect app or OTA updates anyway. So my read is I'd actually not "lose" anything at all, since all the stuff I'm readying about being missing isn't available to me anyway.


Brad.

2017 Grand Cherokee Overland, 5.7l Hemi, all the techy stuff.
bpsmicro is offline  
post #14 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 01:45 PM
NicRuf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
Hey Brad, yeah I think you are correct. I don't believe it would effect remote start from the key fob
NicRuf is offline  
post #15 of 48 Old 10-02-2018, 03:54 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 17,496
Yeah you can remote start from the FOB without any radio installed.

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory;
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome