adding back up camera on 2015 altitude - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 02-11-2015, 08:57 AM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
adding back up camera on 2015 altitude

Just picked up a new 2015 altitude last week after driving a limited as a loaner for 2 weeks.. The wife fell in love with the back up camera on the limited and now i have a new project for the altitude.. Dealerships around here want a little more than 1k dollars to install which i believe i can do for a lot cheaper. Ive searched and know whats involved..
My main question is has anyone used the kit from http://www.emeraldintegrations.com/c...ra-system.html ? The difference i see is the camera itself. Instead of replacing and painting the entire panel, looks like i can drill a hole and thread this one in.. Any input would be appreciated..

Attached Thumbnails
image1.jpg   image2.jpg  
15Altitude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 02-11-2015, 09:16 AM
asorr1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fairfield
Posts: 157
Also interested in this as my new Laredo will not have the back-up cam and I would like it since I added the bigger radio.

2020 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk with Lux Package in Granite.
asorr1 is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 02-11-2015, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
Ive contacted the company to email me a copy of the instructions.. Aside from taking the interior panels apart , it looks pretty straight forward.. Looks like ill be the guinea pig for his one. Its much better than having to buy the entire rear panel and repaint it.
Attached Thumbnails
Untitled.jpg  
15Altitude is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 Old 02-14-2015, 10:03 AM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
Just incase anyone is following this, I got the parts in next day.. Should be doing the install in the next few weeks
edit: I tried uploading a picture of the kit but I keep getting an error message...

Last edited by 15Altitude; 02-14-2015 at 10:06 AM.
15Altitude is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 02-14-2015, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
Kit
Attached Thumbnails
image_1423933603289.jpg  
15Altitude is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 02-14-2015, 10:46 AM
TAvette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 24
This thread might be of some use

http://www.**********.org/f155/2014-...led-82261.html

"jeep garage" in place of * (no space)
TAvette is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 02-15-2015, 08:39 AM
BlckWK2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by 15Altitude View Post
Its much better than having to buy the entire rear panel and repaint it.
Just to let you know the panel can be swapped with your current one. It's held onto the rear brow with some tabs. Once popped off you can snap in your panel, no drilling, fully integrated, OEM rear brow backup camera with your panel cover and no repaint. However, it does look like you saved a little money going aftermarket. Let us know how the install goes! If you run into any issues just post them back up here. Many people have experience with either doing the install themselves or having the dealership do the install. Both methods of installation have led to some questions (steering wheel controls not working, backup camera flickers, etc..) but the community helped with solving many of the after install issues.

Good luck!
BlckWK2 is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 02-15-2015, 11:22 AM
Robs15Altitude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 7
Just picked up a 2015 Altitude as well with no backup camera. I've seen a couple solutions like the one from CRUX that doesn't require the dealer to activate the camera option but this is cheaper (parts anyhow). Keep us posted on your outcome. Other then popping some trim panels, mounting the camera and running the cable it doesn't look to bad. The radio comes out really easy from other posts I've read. Thanks for posting your findings...
Robs15Altitude is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 03-11-2015, 06:52 AM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
So far so good.. took the better part of 2 days but was also taking my time.. Have It all hooked up besides the switched power near the radio.. Have to figure out what i can tap into.. Thinking about splicing into the cigarette lighter port.. Attached is how i have it wired.. Plan on going to the dealer this weekend..
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0407.jpg  
15Altitude is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 03-11-2015, 06:57 AM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
Looks like its not centered but it is.. I measured about 5 times.. Ill get a better one in the sun
Attached Images
 
15Altitude is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 03-11-2015, 02:47 PM
DavidsCyclops
Registered User
 
DavidsCyclops's Avatar
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory
Posts: 468
Looks like you have to have the dealer program it also to make it turn on and work in reverse?
DavidsCyclops is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 03-12-2015, 07:24 AM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
Yes i still have to have the dealer program it.. I plan on doing that this friday.. The moment of truth..
15Altitude is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 03-12-2015, 08:44 AM
DavidsCyclops
Registered User
 
DavidsCyclops's Avatar
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory
Posts: 468
can they also program front bumper cameras?
DavidsCyclops is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 03-13-2015, 06:27 AM Thread Starter
15Altitude
Registered User
2015  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Burleson
Posts: 12
I believe so but sounds like you better option is the lock pick.. Look it up..
15Altitude is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 03-13-2015, 08:56 AM
DavidsCyclops
Registered User
 
DavidsCyclops's Avatar
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory
Posts: 468
I was almost ready to get the lockpick. read over 1000 posts on it in another forum.

But I was curious about doing it so it worked like stock
DavidsCyclops is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome