Question for the Military Jeepers - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-05-2006, 10:49 PM Thread Starter
enil01

1993 YJ Wrangler 

Question for the Military Jeepers

Hey guy's I'm new to the Navy (4 months out of boot for 2) I'm currently stationed at NAS Whidbey Island up in WA. I was wondering what sort of oportunities I would have to work on my jeep while living in the barracks. We have an auto hobbie shop on base but I don't know if I could leave projects in there for more than a day.

'93 4.0L YJ Becky
RE 4.5" XD lift | 33" TRXus M/Ts | Warn M8000 | Herculined | OBA

_|_
--X-X-(_)-X-X--
<->
<3 EP-3Es
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-05-2006, 11:05 PM
BigYellaJeep

1998 TJ Wrangler 

You CAN, but have to pay money...which is not always good. At least over at Fort Campbell (where I just was) that was the case. Some don't let you though. Especially if they know it will be there for a while. Find a friend's house or something..

Current Corvette: '01 Z06

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last Jeep: 98 Sport TJ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1st Jeep: '86 CJ-7 (I miss her)

post #3 of 9 Old 06-05-2006, 11:09 PM
Bgeddes

1978 CJ5 

I was not in the Navy, but in the Army the Auto shops let you keep a project there for a fee. I guess the basic concept is if you're paying storage, you won't let it sit there forever. The autoshops were really good when I was in (many years ago), and a lot of the guys that worked there really knew thier stuff. They had every tool imaginable.

I built a stock class circle track car in one, and spent MANY weekends in the Army in the Auto Shop.

'00 XJ Classic > Stock DD
'88 Grand Waggy - Bone stock pseudo-barnfind
'78 CJ5 - Under minor rehab

post #4 of 9 Old 06-05-2006, 11:10 PM
BigYellaJeep

1998 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgeddes