InProgress

Email Bookmark Print
dietcokehead

Jeep Information

Year:1990

Engine:none

Transmission:AX15

Transfer Case:NP241J

Hello everyone. I am new here but been building or trying to build a 1990 4banger to straight 6 conversion. been thru about 4 donors that never worked due to electrical stuff each time.

I just got a 1986 CJ7 carborated straight six engine 5speed which I want. Based on all the other problems I have had trying to get electronics to work I want to use this as my donor. Can I use this as a base to get rid of fuel injection (if an EMP ever hits I "should" be good) to go carborator - will I be able to get rid of the computer to power my dash with just the essential stuff or did I waste money buying it today?

I am no mechanic, I am a cyber security guy so laymens terms will help me out

Tags
None

Login Or Register To Post Comments

Laxdad24
View Laxdad24's Jeep
05-26-2021, 02:35 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dietcokehead View Post
Hello everyone. I am new here but been building or trying to build a 1990 4banger to straight 6 conversion. been thru about 4 donors that never worked due to electrical stuff each time.

I just got a 1986 CJ7 carborated straight six engine 5speed which I want. Based on all the other problems I have had trying to get electronics to work I want to use this as my donor. Can I use this as a base to get rid of fuel injection (if an EMP ever hits I "should" be good) to go carborator - will I be able to get rid of the computer to power my dash with just the essential stuff or did I waste money buying it today?

I am no mechanic, I am a cyber security guy so laymens terms will help me out