Thinking about buying 07 Liberty - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 06-24-2020, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
2020 Blue JL

Thinking about buying 07 Liberty

My son is in need of his first car. In looking at all different types online, he brought me a handful of Liberty's for sale. Seems he likes the looks. One in particular we found is an 07 that looks to be in good shape. I've got lots of experience with WJs, YJs and XJs, and even some with JLs but none with the KJs. Is there any common issues I should be aware of or any specific things to watch out for when choosing one?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 06-25-2020, 07:12 AM
Gyrocaptain
2007 KJ Liberty 

Check the front driveshaft CV at the TC, the boot tends to go.cheap and easy fix of the CV.
Test all windows up and down,the plastic part of the regulator wears,also a easy fix.
The 07 has fly by wire throttle and cruise control.
Other than that check the usual stuff,ball joints,tie rods and such.

Gyro
post #3 of 16 Old 06-25-2020, 08:19 AM
RussB81

2004 KJ Liberty 

Listen to the front bearing/hub. The KJ's eat these. You'll hear a loud whomp whomp that you might think is the tires but it isn't. The front hubs may last 30k, or they may go 150k. Average would be about 60k. KJ's also don't last forever on ball joints. The majority of the KJ's that pass through have bad lowers.

The front CV shafts are a beech to change. If a boot is torn wrap it in self fusing silicone tape - I have all four boots wrapped for the past 30,000 miles with zero problems. If you change the front shafts you have to take apart most of the suspension, and order the intermediate shaft for the passenger side because I guarantee it will not separate from the shaft.

Ask about overheating. When a KJ is constantly overheating or has had a few overheats you can rest assured the head gaskets are toast. Heads aren't an easy job compared to the ol' 4.0 inline.