2001 4.0 Laredo Shale Green Jeep Registry
Previous Jeep WJ Grand Cherokee Next Jeep

2001 4.0 Laredo Shale Green

Email Bookmark Print
Beardoknowledge

Jeep Information

Just joined because I've been putting in a lot work and research on my WJ. I mainly repair electronics for a living but like to take care of my own vehicles too.

I've had my WJ for about 5 years and it's been a heck of a process.

Last year I had to have transmission torn down three times until it was finally fully rebuilt properly... and last week a buddy replaced head gasket, resurfaced heads, replaced thermostat, housing, brand new radiator and cleaned the heck out of it.

So I can honestly say I have one of the cleanest and definitely the smoothest i6 and 42res I've personally ever seen. The expression, "runs like a top" fully applies--very proud of the work that's been completed thus far.

Hopefully in the next week or two I'll have the front driveshaft rebuilt and can move on to
suspension.

That said I've accumulated a lot of fun stuff I'm chomping at the bit to install including 3" spacers by Supreme Suspensions, spring insulators 1" rear swaybar by Aadco, Moog swaybar links, Moog adjustment sleeve, Moog tie rod ends, rough country steering stabilizer and a few other oddball items. Getting the Bilstein 5100s as well but it'll be a few more weeks before I get to knock all this out. I anticipate completion early to mid-september. I'm starting with sleeve and ends because she's toed in something fierce, then swaybar and finally the lift (priorities, amirite?)

Other items I've addressed along the way would include struts, all wheel assembly issues, brakes, any and all electrical issues (I'm comfortable with a multimeter and have tracked down and resolved a ton of electrical bugs on these suckers--of which there is no shortage, as I'm sure you all know too well). I even made a giant spreadsheet of every point of electrical weakness to check when diagnosing such gremlins.