recovery NO NO? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 58 Old 02-19-2008, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
mschviuz

1998 TJ Wrangler 

recovery NO NO?

Ok....not sure where to post this but since I have a TJ I'll try here.
I've read posts that say you aren't supposed to use tow straps with metal hooks and I can use my imagination to figure out the why but.....

what is the correct way to use a recovery strap? any pics?
I'm new to 4 wheelin and would like to see the correct ways before something goes majorly wrong!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 58 Old 02-19-2008, 11:51 AM
JasonJW

If a strap with a metal hook lets go, a large hunk of metal goes flying through the air causing the obvious safety issue. If a loop strap breaks, the idea is that there is no chunk of metal attached to it.
post #3 of 58 Old 02-19-2008, 12:00 PM Thread Starter
mschviuz

1998 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonJW View Post
If a strap with a metal hook lets go, a large hunk of metal goes flying through the air causing the obvious safety issue. If a loop strap breaks, the idea is that there is no chunk of metal attached to it.
Yea...that's what I meant by i can imagine the reason not to use hooks. What I want to know is how are you tieing the loops without them tightening up so much you can't get them off

post #4 of 58 Old 02-19-2008, 12:05 PM
Jerky bump

I wonder if there's been a thread on "recovery techniques"? That would be cool. I think the main rule is to hook to something capable of taking the jerk and just use your imagination depending on the circumstances. Personally, I think an axle would be the best point of hookup-but it's likely seldom available. I also read there are minimum hook points required on a rig before you're allowed on certain trails. Tying loops is better done with proper knots like a sheepshank and bowline. There are also special knots used for straps and slippery material. Just remember, knots on average weaken the "rope" by half.