Off road driving tips?? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 05-24-2004, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
KUK9

2000 TJ Wrangler 

Off road driving tips??

I am not going to beat around the bush...I am relatively new to going off roading, at least in my Jeep. I have gone with other vehicles a lot, but all have been automatics. Well, the TJ is a manual. I have driven them a lot on street, but not much off road when I need to go slower and control speed. So, my main question is, does anyone have any tips for off roading with a manual? I was doing ok until I started smelling the good 'ol smell of clutch and finally realized I was in 4H instead of 4L, so that helped a lot when I changed. Any tips on driving so that I don't need to ride the clutch a lot, or risk the 'ol jerky momentum when going over an obstacle and risk breaking something?

REDLYNER Racing #4550

My Build Thread:
https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/adapt-die-kuk9s-stretch-tj-build-1160620
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-25-2004, 03:06 AM
prossett

Location: The oasis city of Al Ain, where the red sand dunes of the UAE meet the craggy mountains of Oman
I think pretty much you've got the answer already - only touch the clutch when changing gears, and when you do that just push your clutch foot all the way down and then release completely in one smooth movement.

A lot of newbies to manuals worry the engine will stall, so try to get a feel for what's the slowest each gear will go with your foot off the gas completely. Your Jeep will in fact crawl forward on its own without stalling in many gears.

You might say, well, what about when I'm stopped?

If you're in the right gear for the obstacle you're facing (and that's the hard part) then you don't need to stop. You should avoid stopping if possible, especially on grades. In the correct gear you can muscle over the obstacle without touching the clutch and without going too fast.