Newbie, Day 2 - How hard is it to put on side steps I'm NOT a mechanic! - JeepForum.com
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Kruzin
  • 1 Post By jburer
  • 1 Post By jtec
  • 1 Post By biffgnar

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-09-2018, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
candy1land
2018 JK Wrangler 

Newbie, Day 2 - How hard is it to put on side steps I'm NOT a mechanic!

Ok so last night I achieved a life long dream and jumped off the cliff and bought my first Jeep. 2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JK - Rhino (SO AWESOME). I've never owned a Jeep before but I already understand the acronym of Just Empty Every Pocket. LOL

The first thing after all weather mats I want to add is side rails but I'm nervous about how difficult they might be to install?

So - how hard is it? And any suggestions on a great place to order them? They are everywhere but I want quality and the right fit.

I'm going to hit up YouTube as well but I'm not super strong and don't have a ton of power tools laying around so before I go all DIYer please let me know what I'm in for?

Thanks for being patient with such a NEWBIE!!!

"Still breathing in the new car smell, can't believe she's MINE"

Candace

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-09-2018, 09:25 PM
Kruzin
Web Wheeler

2009 JK Wrangler 

It depends on what type you get. Looking just at Quadratec, they list 84 different side steps that will fit your Jeep. Most will be in the "intermediate, Level 2 (of 5)" difficulty, some take more work than others.
Plug in your year/model at the top of this page and see what's available. Most have downloadable instructions you can check out and see if you think you can handle it.
https://www.quadratec.com/categories...ion/side_steps
candy1land likes this.

'09 JK Rubicon
'01 XJ Sport
'10 Fusion
post #3 of 14 Old 04-10-2018, 06:48 AM
JeeperDon
Think Outside the Catalog

1993 YJ Wrangler 

You would do a LOT better asking this in the of the other JL (not JK) guys, the forum for the 2018+ Wranglers.