Need owner's manual for 1999 XJ--which one? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-02-2016, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
XJkate
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Need owner's manual for 1999 XJ--which one?

I want to buy a manual for my 1999 Jeep Cherokee limited. I'm pretty new to car repair, so I'm looking for something a reference with information specific to my vehicle, especially diagrams. As far as I can tell, Jeep owner's manuals are not available online for free before 2004-ish, so I've been looking for a copy on eBay. Before I fork out the money, I have some questions:

1. Is there a difference between an "owner's manual," "factory service manual," and a "service repair manual?" (Remember, I'm a newbie, so be patient with me. ) If so, which one should I get? Oh, and I also saw some Jeep "repair manual bibles"--I'm assuming those are not made by Jeep. But would you recommend them over an owner's manual? What about Haynes manuals?

2. How specific do the books get regarding the model of the vehicle? For example, should I try to find a version that is specific to the limited model? I know I've already run into issues where my jeep has significant differences from sports (obviously), and it's kinda hard to find information online to help. But looking on eBay I haven't seen any manuals specific to a limited model.

3. What should I expect to pay? The service manuals are running at over $100, the owner's manuals around $15 or $20. I found a factory service manual for $15 in pdf form. Does that sound right?

Bleh, sorry for all the questions! I just don't want to order the wrong thing. Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-02-2016, 11:20 AM Thread Starter
XJkate
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Need owner's manual for 1999 XJ--which one?