Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Diagnostic cable/software for Jeeps?

539 views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  Kruzin 
#1 ·
So I am relatively new to Jeeps and recently got a Compass, which I noted had a standard 16 pin OBD diagnostic socket.

Coming from the world of VWs, the OBD socket ends up getting used alot, I have a Specific VW cable and software from Rosstech, allows me to change settings about the car, trouble shoot and even make changes to the radio.

So with the Jeep I thought there must be something the same, but what do you use? Is there anything standard like with the VWs or is it a case of something a bit more generic?

#2 ·
There's tons available...for the bigger Jeeps, from standard OBD2 readers/scanners that work on any gas passenger vehicle, to full blown performance programmers.
What most Jeepers use is somewhere in the middle with a unit commonly known as a "Flashcal" (which is SuperChips name). It does all the standard OBD2 code reading/resetting and also allows access to a bunch of programmable parameters like alarm, keyless, DRL and lots of other settings...but more importantly it lets you change what tire sizes and axle gear ratios the system thinks you have, so if you put larger tires and re-gear the axles, the speedo will display accurately and odometer will record correct mileage.

Unfortunately for you, the Compass isn't one of the Jeeps that is supported by these tuners. They aren't heavily modifiable like the Wranglers, and there isn't much to do with them performance-wise. But there are plenty of universal OBD2 readers on Amazon that will do the basic error code stuff. I just ordered one for my Fusion that's Bluetooth, comes with apps for my phone and PC, does realtime performance and economy stats and other fun stuff for just 70 bux...and there are super basic bluetooth code readers for under 20.

#3 ·