post #1 of 23 Old 10-28-2018, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
WJ04JGC

Paint issues

User
Join: Oct 2018

1 day ago #1
New Paint Issues
Hi all,
I recently repaired some body damage and repainted several panels on my 04 WJ. I did these repairs over the course of 4 months as my original intention was to repair only one section.
I used Automotive Paint Touch Up's 12 oz cans of prime,base and clear following all directions. I also used their prep solvent. I'm not a professional body man but, I think the end results were excellent after wet sanding and DA polishing.

After week/months of painting and all of a sudden, I now have what looks like scratches under the clear coat. The surface is smooth and you can't see it in certain angles. The "scratches" seemed to appear after the first cold snap and more seem to be appearing. I tried wet sanding and compounding to no avail.

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?
If I repaint will they just re appear?

Thanks for the help
Attachments
Show these thumbnails

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 10-28-2018, 12:47 PM Thread Starter
WJ04JGC

Here are pics
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20181023_150654618_HDR_1540752314657.jpg   IMG_20181023_150703055_1540752340068.jpg   IMG_20181020_111558852_1540752394599.jpg   IMG_20181020_111614992_HDR_1540752418764.jpg  
post #3 of 23 Old 10-28-2018, 03:33 PM
222Doc

2012 JK Wrangler 

Garage
must have left some deep scratches doing the repair. The paint when it drys and shrinks a bit tend to amplify any thing under it.

Home of the Parker Desert Splash

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 23 Old 10-28-2018, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
WJ04JGC