trying to understand grounding of CB Bracket for "21 JL Unlimited Sport S - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-09-2021, 09:11 AM Thread Starter
eebdel

trying to understand grounding of CB Bracket for "21 JL Unlimited Sport S

While I work on getting my HAM Amateur license, i'm adding a CB (Midlands 75-822) because it, too makes it portable.
I understand my '21 Wrangler Unlimited Sport S, is an aluminum body. So a magnet mount won't work. I'm trying to find a bracket to fit for the rear gate. I have found a couple. One fit fine until i put the spare on (245/75R17) and it pressed against the sidewall, so too wide. I thought about adding a couple of washers as spacers to get some distance between the bracket and the sidewall, but wasn't sure that would be good for the spare tire bracket itself. I'm new to Jeep, so a lot of learning part-time,

The bracket is a good product and well made, great idea, just too tight.
Should the bracket be made of stainless steel for grounding? Does powder coating affect the ground, so i should sand / grind some of the powder coating away? Some brackets seems to be made of aluminum, so grounding would be a challenge?

So much info on Internet and Youtube with opinions. I'm just looking for facts and way to get it done. I'd like not to remove the bolts from the top hinge (some brackets are mounted there) because the replacement screw is either black or silver. Jeep is Firecracker Red. Yeah...it's also about the aesthetics. Once I figure out the bracket piece, i can run the cable through the gate along the sides under carpet and get it to the front.

Thanks,

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-09-2021, 11:02 AM
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents

2000 XJ Cherokee 

For CB, electrical ground and antenna ground plane are not the same thing, but the install basics are the same, paint, powder coat, and rust need to removed for a clean bare metal contact point.