Short to ground - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 05-27-2020, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
tonyskidawg

Garage
Short to ground

Hey guys, I am fixing up 2003 Grand Cherokee, 4x4, when I first got it, it had a dead battery, that was only not quite 2 years into the 5 year warranty. The Walmart MAXX something. So I had my friend that I am fixing this for, she got a free replacement battery. I have been working on it for 3 months now, and would run it every week for ten minutes or so, drive it around for 20, etc.
Last week the battery was dead. So I jumped it charged up, but I disconnected the ground. Now it stays charged.

I am thinking short to ground. I was a mechanic (ground equipment), in the service for 30 years. I understand ohms, voltmeter, etc.

But before I jump off the deep end. Are 2003 Grand Cherokees, notorious for anything in particular? I know there are a lot of them out there. Any ideas on what could be draining the new battery? When I hook it up it arcs pretty good.

I am doing visual inspections, but want to know if anything jumps out, from your Jeep experience.

Thank you.

Skidawg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 05-27-2020, 12:00 PM
cranbiz

2012 JK Wrangler 

I doubt it's a short. There is probably something on or a bad module, switch, aftermarket thing drawing power with the key off.

I would start with measuring the current at the IOD (ignition off draw) fuse. Connect an ammeter and shut it down. Watch the current draw and continue watching it for 15 minutes or so. Some modules take longer to shut down than others. Don't interrupt the ammeter connection while testing or the entire process restarts. If the draw doesn't drop to a minuscule amount, then you have found something not shutting down.

06 KJ
12 JK, 2.5" Teraflex lift, Bilstein 5100's, BFG KM3's 37x12.5/R17
17 WK2 Trailhawk
KN4BBA
post #3 of 18 Old 05-27-2020, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
tonyskidawg

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by cranbiz View Post