Transmission going crazy! 2002 Wrangler TJ. - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 01-20-2020, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
The Goblin

2002 TJ Wrangler 

Garage
Transmission going crazy! 2002 Wrangler TJ.

Hey all. I'm brand new to the Jeep life and excited for the future adventures. I just purchased a 2002 Wrangler Sport with only about 78,000 miles. It's old, but overall in pretty good shape. It does have one pretty big concern though, the transmission is acting crazy when trying to shift into 3rd.

I have been searching the forums (this one and others), instructional sites, YouTube, etc. for a few days and haven't really seen anyone with the same problem (some similar, but not exactly the same).

It shifts fine from 1st to 2nd, but when it tries to shift into 3rd, it seems to shift back and forth 5-6 times as my speed picks up until it finally calms down around 45mph. All this happens around 1500-2000 rpms.

I adjusted the TV cable a little because at first it really seemed to be shifting SUPER early (like around 1000rpm), but that didn't seem to help. It takes a little longer to shift now, but it still bounces back and forth.

I just checked the transmission fluid and it is pretty dark and smells burnt. The level seems ok. I'm definitely going to change it.

Anyway, I could use some help if anyone has any suggestions. Could it be as easy as changing out the fluid? Any other thoughts?

Thank you all! I'm very excited to be a part of this great community! I am 42 and have wanted a Jeep since I was 16!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 01-22-2020, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
The Goblin

2002 TJ Wrangler 

Garage
I had the fluid changed and put in a new transmission fluid filter. Didn't fix the problem. Still bounces back and forth between 2nd and 3rd gear until I reach about 50mph.

Any ideas?

Living life and loving it. Break free!

-The Goblin
post #3 of 31 Old 01-22-2020, 06:42 PM
mukluk
Web Wheeler

2000 TJ Wrangler