New Engine Advice - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 02-10-2020, 08:18 PM Thread Starter
vincentjones1

New Engine Advice

My '07 Wrangler JK (203,500) engine is finally failing. I now need to determine which way to go: new, used or rebuilt. I need to know where to find a new engine dealer. I also need to know a place that sells re-manufactured engines. This is my first time doing this, so I am looking reputable sources.

I dont want to get rid of this Jeep. 12 years single owner, she has been good to us.

Any advice/direction would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 02-27-2020, 03:24 AM
Kcooks12

2001 TJ Wrangler 

Where are you located? I know some decent engine shops in Colorado near the Denver area. Superior Engines has a 6 year 60k mile warranty on their rebuilds. They also have used motors here and there. Junk yard motors like LKQ or Central Auto Parts are hit or miss and a bit of a gamble. I would not personally buy an online or catalog motor but that's my preference based on horror stories. If you plan on keeping it find a reputable mechanic who will pull your motor, ship it or transport yourself to the engine shop, then back to mechanic to put it in. Or skip the mechanic and do it yourself if you can to save some money 😃.

You never mentioned.... what's wrong with your motor?
post #3 of 16 Old 02-27-2020, 06:42 AM
jtec
Web Wheeler

2014 JK Wrangler 

Skill level?
What is issue ? compression, seized crank/rod, valves?

1) have tools, work space and experience - then use a local machine shop and DIY

2) No time, no shop to use or experience then - 'jasper' and use their suggested installer

https://www.jasperengines.com/

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.

post #4 of 16 Old 02-27-2020, 07:06 AM
Kruzin
Web Wheeler

2009 JK Wrangler