Jeep Comanche 4.0 Ticking Noise - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-11-2013, 10:47 AM Thread Starter
brocksta09
1990 MJ Comanche 

Jeep Comanche 4.0 Ticking Noise

Hello to all fellow Jeep enthusiasts,

New member here needing some advising on my ticking 4.0!!

First off, I like to consider myself pretty sufficient with engine diagnostics as I have many years experience working as a Motorcycle Technician. I constantly keep all my machines maintained properly and I am a "worry wort" about keeping them running at 100%. In other words, this ticking is driving me up the wall! I typically do all of my own repairs, with that being said: Here is the issue I am having with the ole' Comanche.

I have a ticking noise that can only be heard once engine is warm. No sounds at all during a cold start, not even a sound after startup while engine is still slightly warm after sitting for a slight amount of time. The abnormal sound cannot be heard while the engine is at idle, whether hot or cold. The ticking starts just above idle when the engine is warm. The ticking increases as RPM's increase. The sound is pretty noisy, can constantly be heard while driving, even at 60 mph. With my mechanical background with Atv's, Motorcycle's, PWC's it sounds like a very loose valve clearance. Which leads me to believe lifter, pushrod, or an rocker arm problem (or a combo of the three) There has not been any power loss nor drivability issues.

Now, the specs:
1990 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4x4
I6 4.0 Renix
Auto Trans
Roughly 150,000 miles