Fuel Injector Help!!! - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-10-2019, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
alamoreaux

Fuel Injector Help!!!

Hello everyone.

I'm new to JeepForum so thanks in advance for your help. I have a 1996 Cherokee 4WD L6 and I think my engine is running a little rich. It used to show the check engine light with a code for fuel air ratio problem. That has since magically disappeared, but my engine still idles rough on starting (really shakes the car while the engine is "warming up"). It also idles jumpy at a stop light once in a while, until it's running for a while and then I'm good.

The previous owner installed new fuel injectors, and looking at them they are re manufactured with a Ford label on them. I've read that fuel injectors could leak and just generally fail when they're re manufactured. It really depends on where you buy them I guess.

I'm looking to change them and was looking for recommendations for a good brand. I like 1A Auto but their injectors had bad reviews. All the cheap sets of 6 I found had terrible reviews. The only set I found with decent reviews are these Bosche remanufactured injectors I found for 70$ on Ebay. I'm wondering whether it would be worth it to just buy the full price ones from Advance or something.

Is there anything else I could do to stop this rough idle? Clean spark plugs, etc.? Should I worry about "engine knock" (something my buddy mentioned to me, if my engine is running rich).

Any tips for which injectors I should buy, installation tips, and general recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks from Ashley and Arthur XJ

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 08-10-2019, 10:38 AM
Jo3Gee
1936 CJ2A 

Fuel Injector Help!!!