Camshaft position sensor help - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-15-2016, 08:57 PM Thread Starter
Tman96
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 20
Camshaft position sensor help

03 grand Cherokee 4.0 and today it died in a strange misfiring fashion. Luckily it started and I got it home before it died again. I pulled a code and it said the camshaft position sensor circuit malfunction which fits the symptoms. I'm wondering where the best place to start diagnosing is or what is the best order to check. Is there anyway to know if the sensor is the problem before buying a replacement? I've watched some videos on it and if it's miss aligned I'm not sure if I can fix it myself. Getting piston one to tdc on the compression stroke may be above my capabilities.

Tman96 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-16-2016, 11:11 AM
TIPPEDITOVER
Registered User
 
TIPPEDITOVER's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton
Posts: 3,823
You'll see some threads on the topic where people say oh, just check volts and ohms with a multimeter. That's only part of it.

The only true comprehensive test that can actually show if it's bad is using a graphing oscilloscope watching the waveform the sensor produces as the engine is running. Every good shop has one of those.

This is one of those sensors you just go ahead and buy and put it in having a fair amount of confidence it will fix the problem. They fail around 100K to 150K miles. Make sure to only buy a MOPAR brand from the dealership, nothing else.

You will have to take it to a shop after you replace the sensor because they will have to sync it to the crank sensor. They have a special tool that does that, you won't be able to.

Ongoing CJ-5 to CJ-6 Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TIPPEDITOVER is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-29-2016, 04:49 PM
RWKHausSupply
Registered User
 
RWKHausSupply's Avatar
1990 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yorba Linda
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIPPEDITOVER View Post
You will have to take it to a shop after you replace the sensor because they will have to sync it to the crank sensor. They have a special tool that does that, you won't be able to.
I have heard people talk of this and recommend it,or say it must be done. But there is no real tool to do with with? Not even a DRB I think does any Syncing as you mention and so many seem to recommend.

I have never seen it done thats for sure. Not even when I built a new complete 4.7 stroker and the programmer dude at the dyno, set fuel/spark curves etc, did he say he could "sync" the cam to crack signals.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Differential Specialist
RWK Haus Supply
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Contact us for All your Drivetrain needs, For Less.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

714-875-2414

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RWKHausSupply is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-29-2016, 05:43 PM
TIPPEDITOVER
Registered User
 
TIPPEDITOVER's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton
Posts: 3,823
The DRB III absolutely has a sync feature for the cam sensor. So does the Snap on MT2500 and many other newer aftermarket units. Wow, I'd be looking for a new programmer dude if I were you.

Ongoing CJ-5 to CJ-6 Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TIPPEDITOVER is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-29-2016, 07:46 PM
TIPPEDITOVER
Registered User
 
TIPPEDITOVER's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton
Posts: 3,823
Thought I'd go ahead and put up a screen shot of the DRB III tool on the cam sync page just in case there's any more questions about whether it can or can't sync the cam to crank sensor. In that particular screen shot it was so far out of range it didn't give a value.

Also something worth noting is cam sync only applies Cherokee's 00' and up. The ones with coil packs. If you have a 99' or older then cam sync with the DRB tool doesn't apply. The OP has an 03' WJ, so it very much applies to him.
Attached Images
 

Ongoing CJ-5 to CJ-6 Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TIPPEDITOVER is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-30-2016, 08:34 AM
RWKHausSupply
Registered User
 
RWKHausSupply's Avatar
1990 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yorba Linda
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIPPEDITOVER View Post
Thought I'd go ahead and put up a screen shot of the DRB III tool on the cam sync page just in case there's any more questions about whether it can or can't sync the cam to crank sensor. In that particular screen shot it was so far out of range it didn't give a value.

Also something worth noting is cam sync only applies Cherokee's 00' and up. The ones with coil packs. If you have a 99' or older then cam sync with the DRB tool doesn't apply. The OP has an 03' WJ, so it very much applies to him.
Maybe that is why everyone I have seen and such (Jeep Strokers forum, XJ, etc) talk about it but dont have the ability to do. Most strokers are the dist style. I know of 2 that are the COP style.

Mine is a 98, so why it was not poss on mine.

Good info.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Differential Specialist
RWK Haus Supply
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Contact us for All your Drivetrain needs, For Less.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

714-875-2414

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RWKHausSupply is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-07-2016, 06:28 PM
bamarider1
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: tuscumbia
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIPPEDITOVER View Post
You'll see some threads on the topic where people say oh, just check volts and ohms with a multimeter. That's only part of it.

The only true comprehensive test that can actually show if it's bad is using a graphing oscilloscope watching the waveform the sensor produces as the engine is running. Every good shop has one of those.

This is one of those sensors you just go ahead and buy and put it in having a fair amount of confidence it will fix the problem. They fail around 100K to 150K miles. Make sure to only buy a MOPAR brand from the dealership, nothing else.

You will have to take it to a shop after you replace the sensor because they will have to sync it to the crank sensor. They have a special tool that does that, you won't be able to.
I'm having issues with the cam sensor on my 01 gc 4.7 v8. Will i need to have it synced to the chankshaft sensor on that engine?
bamarider1 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-08-2016, 10:32 AM
TIPPEDITOVER
Registered User
 
TIPPEDITOVER's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton
Posts: 3,823
Nope, you don't sync that style. Totally different engine design. Only thing you must ensure is .030" +or- .010" air gap between sensor and tone ring. I'd do that by measuring depth of old sensor and compare to new sensor.

Reference this TSB: http://www.wjjeeps.com/tsb/tsb_wj_082200a.pdf

Ongoing CJ-5 to CJ-6 Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TIPPEDITOVER is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-09-2016, 08:50 AM
bamarider1
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: tuscumbia
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIPPEDITOVER View Post
Nope, you don't sync that style. Totally different engine design. Only thing you must ensure is .030" +or- .010" air gap between sensor and tone ring. I'd do that by measuring depth of old sensor and compare to new sensor.

Reference this TSB: http://www.wjjeeps.com/tsb/tsb_wj_082200a.pdf
Thanks for the reply & tsb. My jeep falls within those dates, so I'm going to check that out.
bamarider1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome