SRT8 budget project - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-30-2017, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
MoparGav

SRT8 budget project

Im planning on getting 1999-2006 Grand Cherokee with 4.7 or 5.7 hemi. But turning it into SRT8 replica. I know I have to get a lowering kit, Body kit and other things. But should I get a Laredo or limited trim package as a blank canvas.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 02-19-2019, 05:02 PM
90grandoneer

2006 WK 

It really depends on how much money you want to spend and what your ultimate goals are. Many folks have SRT'ized 3.7 Laredos, but they're still "low" performance vehicles that look like cool hot rod Jeeps. A little over 9 years ago, I picked up an 06 Overland Hemi and decided to do what you're planning. I usually keep my vehicles almost forever, so the price of mods. wasn't an issue for me, plus I've been doing it slowly for nearly the full nine years. Also, since I got a good deal on my Jeep (paid about $18K for it when they were going for $24-25K), the modding was a little more palatable to the wife. You can see in my signature below approximately what all I've done. The mods. were also done in about the order they're in in the signature. Since, when I bought the Jeep, I also had another Hemi vehicle (05 Hemi Dodge Magnum), I decided to mod. them almost exactly the same. When I would do a mod. to one (usually the Jeep first), I'd soon thereafter do the same mod. to the Magnum. The pix below will show you the finished products, as now I've just began working on an 06 Chrysler 300C SRT8 that I bought from my Grandson. Don't know if the wife will let me keep it long term though, so I am going real slow right now and just doing cosmetic and small things that it needs. So far, everything on it is completely stock.

Here are the pix of all three:
Attached Thumbnails
DSCN3032 (1077 x 808).jpg   P6210057resized.jpg  
Attached Images