Regarding Shocks... - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-03-2019, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
SmashDN
2001 XJ Cherokee 

Regarding Shocks...

Saw a thread where @TheBoogieman recommended Rancho shocks of a certain model. Back when I put my three inch lift on several years ago I used whatever came with the kit and then eventually went with Bilsteins based upon reputation and reviews but have not been super happy with the ride quality.

I am not experienced enough with the nuances of the suspensions to tell you whether the shocks are where to lay the blame or the then new and stiffer leafs and new coils.

What are some of the symptoms of a poorly performing suspension and what role do the shocks or other components play in contributing to or minimizing those issues?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 12-04-2019, 07:33 AM
S8NNG8

1995 XJ Cherokee 

You're looking at a list of ~20+ possibilities. Before you start throwing money at it, replace the shocks you've positively identified as the biggest culprit. Next maybe a set of swaybar bushings (cheap fix).
Shackle angle should be cocked to the rear ~45 for the leafs to flex right.
Loose connections or wallowed holes may be playing a part too.
Check your motor mount brackets on the block. These are known to come loose and act like rough suspension problems.

D3<!L!>3D
post #3 of 12 Old 12-04-2019, 08:24 AM Thread Starter
SmashDN
2001 XJ Cherokee 

RE ~20+ possibilities

I was hoping to sort of create a reference thread with some of those common, and even less common, issues identified so folks with questions and issues could find some things to go check centering around shocks and their role in the suspension feel and ride quality.

post #4 of 12 Old 12-04-2019, 09:37 AM
S8NNG8

1995 XJ Cherokee