Buying JK - What to avoid? (death wobble concerns) - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-03-2015, 03:01 AM Thread Starter
rockyroad30

Buying JK - What to avoid? (death wobble concerns)

Hi All,
Moving to Toronto from Ireland, currently driving a Suzuki Sidekick (geo tracker) no real options to buy Jeep Wranglers here. I had the pleasure of driving 2 tripped out lifted wranglers while on holidays and very much enjoyed it. They were 2014 Wrangler JK Rubicon Unlimitedís.

I have my heart set on a JK, ideally Rubicon, probably the short wheel base (Totonto st. parking) and due to girlfriend promises I have to go automatic.

Iíve done my homework and the Death Wobble is my only concern; the expense involved if it occurs to troubleshoot and sometimes not solve. I am a decent home mechanic but at the same time donít like the idea of abrupt safety concerns. Are there any particular JK setups from 2007 that are less prone to this? For example: unlimited Vs non unlimited, Rubicon Vs non Rubicon, Particular year(s) to avoid etc.

I will be buying second hand and am not made of money so I wonít be buying a shiny 2015 model without any issues!

Really appreciate any advice you can give, I want to be part of the Wrangler club, itís the only thing holding me back.

Cheers,
Rosco

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-03-2015, 10:23 AM
mike134
1989 YJ Wrangler 

From what I understand, the 'death wobble' cases that are 'unsolvable' are because people didn't do the repair work properly. I think these are usually high mileage vehicles with the suspensions worn down to the bone.

If you buy a Rubicon and experience the death wobble, just have all of the suspension wearable parts replaced, balance the tires, and get an alignment, because its time.