After-Mud Maintenance - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 06-08-2009, 09:29 AM Thread Starter
T0ADMAN
1998 TJ Wrangler 

After-Mud Maintenance

I just had a great day of wheelin' and made it home with no serious trail damage. But, since it had rained the night before, my entire Jeep is covered in mud. There is even some mud in the engine compartement since we went through some pretty deep muddy water.

So, what should I do after a muddy day of wheelin' to be sure that my Jeep doesn't suffer any ill effects?
I assume I should rinse all the mud off the underside of my Jeep. But, how do I safetly clean out the engine? Should I grease/lube anything after I'm done cleaning? What and is normal lithium grease the right stuff.

I'm totally new to this any any advice or links to proper cleanup techniques would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 06-08-2009, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
T0ADMAN
1998 TJ Wrangler 

This is the kind of mud I'm talking about: a couple photos to spark interest

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pi...&id=1517853775

Any info for me on what cleanup is necessary?
post #3 of 17 Old 06-08-2009, 09:29 PM
Little Green

1991 FSJ Wagoneer 

Put an oscillating sprinkler underneath it for about an hour. As far as the engine goes go to your local auto parts store(Pep has it) and get some OOMPH cleaner(comes in a yellow spray bottle with a red squeeze handle). It is made by STP and it really works. Spray the entire engine bay down with this stuff and let it sit for 5 minutes and then just rinse it off. DON'T take your high preassure hose and spray it down as you can harm electrics.

91 Grand Wagoneer(Winter vehicle/project)
Prior 08 Wrangler JK Lifted-Miss her

post #4 of 17 Old 06-08-2009, 09:30 PM
2006_Sport

2006 TJ Wrangler 

i would change the front and rear diff fluids.
post #5 of 17 Old 06-08-2009, 09:32 PM
flexsaharatj
2005 TJ Wrangler 

make sure you clean everything very well.