WK Reliability - JeepForum.com
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Unread 03-10-2019, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
Deftoneuk

Hey everyone. I’ve been looking at both the Liberty and WK GC recently for a new Daily Driver/ Weekend toy. With two kids still in car seats it seems like the Grand Cherokee is the smarter option.

The dilemma I find myself in is that I am returning to school for a year so the budget it quite low. Trying to keep things under 7000. I have found a few Hemi models in this price range however typically have 160k-180k miles on them. How is reliability in the WK Grand Cherokee and Hemi motors up in this range? Is it common for the Hemi to go 200k miles?

I was an Engineer for 16 years, so quite adequate with a wrench in my hand so not worried about basic maintenance stuff, but a motor replacement when I’m living on savings would suck!

Last edited by Deftoneuk; 03-10-2019 at 11:10 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Unread 03-11-2019, 02:44 PM
cranbiz

2012 JK Wrangler 

As long as they were maintained and not overheated, they are decent.

06 KJ
12 JK, 2.5" Teraflex lift, Bilstein 5100's, BFG KM3's 37x12.5/R17
17 WK2 Trailhawk
KN4BBA
post #3 of 4 Unread 03-12-2019, 06:34 AM
LouC
2007 WK 

Well in the situation you describe, I don't think its the wisest choice and having a '98 bought new (177,000 miles) and an '07 bought when 2 years old (109,000 miles) after 100,000 miles is when you start to have to replacing things that go beyond normal maintenance. The '07 was less troublesome than the '98 was in general, but every repair job on the '07, is more complex and difficult than similar jobs on the '98.