94 a good year? And major problems? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-04-2018, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
bibsoconner2

94 a good year? And major problems?

I'm a newbie to Jeeps. Was thinking of getting one that's relatively easy to work on as a father/daughter project. I would welcome general advice on which years are good ones for Jeeps but currently am curious about 19994 four cylinder. From my limited research I think this is "YJ" and features square (as opposed to round) headlights. I definitely don't care about that!

Add does mention
1. 120K miles (how long do these engines go?)
2. No cover/top (how expensive are after market covers? Should I go soft/hard?)
3. Transmission housing mounted to driver's side needs work soon (Not sure what this means!)
4. Need to replace driver's side rear shackle mount section of frame (what is that?).

In general is this a good year? My limited research suggests it's one of the last of the YJ years and that usually means kinks have been worked out.

Thanks,
Andrew
P.S. Certainly not in love with any particular year/model so would welcome suggestions. Perhaps I should mention I just replaced low beam headlights on my 2014 Subaru Outback. What should be a 5 minute job took 2 hours due to crappy design. Hence my desire for "easy to work on". Easy to work on doesn't mean "easy to replace engine/transmission", although that would be nice! "Easy to work on" means easy to replace lights, battery, change oil/filter, and breaks and other stuff that could reasonably be done without lifting car.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 05-05-2018, 07:59 AM
bdavid500
1992 YJ Wrangler 

Most all years of the YJ are pretty solid. I would look for 1991+ with the 6 cylinder. The 4 is a good engine but very under powered. In stock form just OK but when you start to add bigger tires (even 31's) the power lose is noticeable.