Max Tire Size for Stock TJ - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-04-2005, 09:47 AM Thread Starter
R.T.
2006 TJ Wrangler 

Max Tire Size for Stock TJ

Wow, what a great site and great set of forums.

I am a newbie with a 3 week old 2006 SE, 4 banger (I'm sure you knew that) with the 6 speed manual trans. My jeep will spend 99% of it's time mall crawling and when I do take it off-road it will be on fire roads, open fields, etc, no rock crawling or mud bogging (I know you are thinking, what the hell is this guy doing here?)

I am not planning on doing any lift but I would like a more aggressive tire then the stock RT/S. Something that will help with a little mud, water, sand, etc. How big can I go and not get any rubbing or suck all the power out of the 2.4 ltr engine.

Thanks in advance,

RT

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 12-04-2005, 09:51 AM
BlaineWasHere
BecauseRacecar

I would go with a 30x9.5 BFG AT or something like that... you could fit 31's but I would just stick with the 30x9.5 BFG AT's

2013 FR-S
post #3 of 5 Old 12-04-2005, 11:32 AM
JeepJohnson
1999 TJ Wrangler 

Welcome! The biggest tire you can fit on a stock TJ would be a 31", I don't know how it would react though since they now put 3.73 gears in the 4 bangers . I have the 2.5L with LT235/75R15(29.1") Goodyear MT/Rs and it's just fine. For 99% street use this size would probably work out great.

post #4 of 5 Old 12-04-2005, 12:23 PM
Dirty Backroads

2005 TJ Wrangler 

Maybe you could find a set of OEM Ravine wheels with the 30"Goodyear GSA tires? Perhaps you can find just a set of Goodyear GSAs from someone who is lifting their new Jeep and going with bigger tires. A lot of people take them off and sell them and for what you want to do they would be perfect. I have 3.73 gears and these wheels/tires and they are fine. You can pick them up cheap. I wouldn't go any higher than 31s if I were you.