Best All Season Tires for Wrangler TJ - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 08-21-2016, 08:50 PM Thread Starter
campermh
1999 TJ Wrangler 

Best All Season Tires for Wrangler TJ

Hi all,

I'm new to the Jeep forum. I just bought my first Jeep in the beginning of June 2016. It's a 1999 Sport with the I6 and 5 speed. I think I made a good find because it has hardly and rot underneath and the paint job has no fading or chipping.

Now, I'll stop talking about my car and ask my question.

The car came with General Ameritracs, size 265/75R15. They have absolutely no dry rot and the tread is about 70%. However while I was painting my rims I noticed that the tires were made in 2003, making them 13 years old. My mechanic said that it's obviously not the safest thing to drive on them but said if I don't want to spend the money to replace then I should wait for a flat. I mostly drive around town and usually drive an hour a week on the Garden State Parkway. I hardly ever bring the car over 60 (it doesn't seem like it wants to go any faster). I figure that you all will recommend getting new tires as most forums I read regarding old tires said you were stupid driving on anything older than 8-10 years.

My real question is what type of tires do you recommend for the Wrangler? I like the oversized I have on now and would prefer to keep it around that size. I'm not a huge fan of the tread, I fishtailed today in light rain (guess it's part of having rwd too). I'm in New Jersey so we get a lot of rain. We also get hit pretty hard with snow in the winter. I am more than open to buying used tires (obviously taking the right precautions). That would actually be preferred because I'm not sure if I'll keep the car when I go to college in a year.

Sorry for the long write-up, I'm new here.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 08-22-2016, 08:07 AM
biffgnar

2006 TJ Wrangler