zj becomes a towpig? - JeepForum.com
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-09-2020, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
ThatRedZj
1994 ZJ 

zj becomes a towpig?

I am pretty new to internals and the technicals I'm looking to increase HP/torque. i have the 5.2 with the stock transmission and axles. i want to pull the engine and transmission and have them gone through. what should i port the heads to and what else can/should i upgrade to maximize the towing potential the 5.2 has. im looking to take it on day trips with a trailer and a side by side so nothing too crazy. its currently lifted 3.5 with 33x12.50 sitting on rusty's suspension. i already plan on downsizing the tire size to 31s and getting more street friendly tires. Budget is anywhere up to 3500-4000. thank you.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 02-09-2020, 12:41 PM
222Doc

2012 JK Wrangler 

Garage
towing the big one is the auto. largest cooler you can fit. trans temps should stay under 200. stock tires and as much gear as you can run. engine well just be sure it stays cool runs well. most towing is about torque not top end HP. So im not sure how much porting heads will gain since that tend to be near end of rpm range where you gain the usage of the extra breathing room.