TCC OD solenoid replacement - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-03-2020, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
avandyck

Hi guys, it's me again. I finally saved up for the overdrive solenoid replacement for my 97, and I'd like to ask for some advice as I have to install it on my own. As far as I understand I have to drop the pan, unscrew some torx buddies, and I'm planning on splicing the wires because I'm not experienced enough on dropping the valve body. I've been reading and watching and whatnot, there's even a step by step post on another forum but pictures won't load up.
I think I have to put the governor press. Down and then go for the OD TCC housing. As for joining (should I say?) the wires, should I use some heat shrink tubes, just spades and butt connectors, or...? They will be in contact with hot oil so I don't wanna have a mess down there. Any advice and help will be greatly appreciated.
1997 4x4 6cil 4.0 42re

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-03-2020, 11:09 PM
Timo_90xj
Web Wheeler

1998 ZJ 

Location: Helsinki, Finland - on the European side of the Atlantic
Do it right or don't do it at all.

Dropping the valve body isn't really that hard, remove the required bolts and drop it down. Only hard part is the park rod, but it usually comes out and goes back in just fine.

1998 Grand Cherokee 5.9 LX daily driver, 1.75" BB, 32" KM2s, HPD30 Eaton e-locker/D44a stock LSD, 4.56 gears, custom- fabbed tube bumpers and tube fenders,...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1990 XJ Limited (4-door), 4.0 I6, AW4, NP242, ***rolled and totalled @ 165k miles***

***Under construction***
1990 XJ (4-door), 4.0 I6, AW4, NP242, PBR 42" tires, Unimog 404 portal axles, 110" WB, full cage + uniframe completely rebuilt, front 3-link + panhard / double triangulated 4-link rear,... ***SOLD***
post #3 of 14 Old 07-04-2020, 06:10 AM
hilljacknm
1996 ZJ 

Garage