9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 02-15-2020, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
ZblackliZard

1993 ZJ 

Garage
Radiator wrong tranny oil flow?

Hello guys,

So i recently had to rebuild my transmission due to burnt clutch disk however the previous owner had it rebuilt less than a year ago. A little before having the issue with my transmission i changed my radiator. I'm a bit new to auto transmission so that might sound stupid first i noticed no oil came out of the oil lines is that normal? and could i have mistakenly connected the wrong line to the wrong connection ( feed to return and vice versa)?

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 02-16-2020, 07:03 PM
zjosh93
1993 ZJ 

Flow from the front of the trans should go to the bottom of the cooler. That way it purges out any air bubbles. Not sure it would have killed an otherwise good trans.

From what I've seen though a lot of trans places do the minimum required to get the trans out of warranty.
wildbill23c and ZblackliZard like this.
post #3 of 19 Old 02-17-2020, 08:39 AM
Mr. Puddles
1996 ZJ 

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZblackliZard View Post
i noticed no oil came out of the oil lines is that normal??
Make sure I understand what you are saying..

When you disconnected the trans cooler lines from the radiator you had no fluid come out. Is that correct?
ZblackliZard likes this.

Follow the build!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2002 Dakota aka Winnie aka Mad Max
1996 Grand Cherokee aka Puddles aka Pikey Life
Quote:
Originally Posted by kg6mov View Post
The 4.0 is dumb old tractor motor, itís too stupid to know itís supposed to die.

post #4 of 19 Old 02-17-2020, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
ZblackliZard

1993 ZJ 

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Puddles View Post
Quote:
i noticed no oil came out of the oil lines is that normal??
Make sure I understand what you are saying..