Question about how to reset PCM - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 01-14-2010, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
stratons_yj
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hillsboro,OH
Posts: 234
Question about how to reset PCM

I read these directions:


Info from a JEEP Technician -

This very simple procedure will Erase the “Adaptive Memory” stored inside the PCM and allow a new “Adaptive Memory” to be developed.

After performing this procedure the PCM will re-learn and store into Adaptive Memory your engines performance characteristics.

Please perform these steps exactly as they are written, in the order they are written. This will cause the adaptive memory in the PCM to be erased and cause the PCM to go into Fast Learn Mode adaptive mode.

Disconnect the POSITIVE battery Terminal and touch it to ground ( not the battery negative terminal ) for 30 seconds. The engine block or the A/C compressor pump will work as a ground. (This is to discharge the PCM capacitors, which maintain the Adaptive Memory.

Reconnect the Battery Cable
Turn Ignition Switch to the “On” position but DO NOT start the engine
Turn Headlight “On”
Turn Headlights “Off”
Turn Ignition Key “Off”


The PCM Adaptive memory has now been flashed, or erased from the PCM.

When you start the engine it will be running off a set of pre-programmed tables that come with the PCM from the factory.

When you get the engine up to operating temperature the PCM will start to collect data for the “Adaptive Memory”.

The PCM will collect data for Adaptive Memory for the first 50 Warm-up Cycles.




BUT....my battery cable's only moves like 2 inches...so I cant reach it to anything.

Can I somehow hook 1 jumper cable end to it and then the other end to the block or something?

stratons_yj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 01-14-2010, 03:37 PM
Double E
Web Wheeler
 
Double E's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,892
Yes, you can use a jumper to ground the positive cable.

What's the percieved purpose for doing the reset?

'04 Freedom Edition HO & '04 Overland HO (previous '00 Laredo 4.7)
Double E is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 01-14-2010, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
stratons_yj
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hillsboro,OH
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double E View Post
Yes, you can use a jumper to ground the positive cable.

What's the percieved purpose for doing the reset?
I'm glad you asked...

On my way home last night I got the P0700 code so I hoping by some miracle chance it will go off and stay off.
stratons_yj is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 01-14-2010, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
stratons_yj
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hillsboro,OH
Posts: 234
Good thing you replied.

Out of all the P0700 related threads, you are the one who sounds like you know what you are talking about
stratons_yj is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 01-14-2010, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
stratons_yj
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hillsboro,OH
Posts: 234
Update:

Tried to reset it 3 times but it didnt go off...

So I just decided to take it out for a drive...and nothing abnormal, no hard shifts, no sluggish shifts, no clunking, no random shifts, and no limp mode.

Counted every gear and overdrive.

I'm definately stumped now...I might have it scanned tomorrow morning.
stratons_yj is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 01-14-2010, 08:11 PM
baxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cranbrook
Posts: 1,443
I reset adapts with the scanner it is ment to be done after either major component replacement or after a tune up
baxy is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 01-15-2010, 07:10 AM
emcneil
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 56
Resetting PCM

This worked for me.

Disconnect battery negative cable for 30 minutes.
Turn key to "ON" for 30 seconds.
Turn key OFF.
Reconnect battery cable.

Ed
'98 5.9 Limited - Stone White
NP 242, K&N FIPK, SCT Tune, Kolak exhaust, 3" lift,
255 70 16 Toyo O.C. AT, JKS Track Bars
emcneil is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 01-15-2010, 07:31 AM
baxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cranbrook
Posts: 1,443
on a chrysler with a JTEC PCM you run the risk or bricking the PCM when you reconnect the battery with the key on so be careful and follow the steps carefully
baxy is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 01-15-2010, 07:53 AM
HighLonesome
Web Wheeler
 
HighLonesome's Avatar
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 8,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxy View Post
on a chrysler with a JTEC PCM you run the risk or bricking the PCM when you reconnect the battery with the key on so be careful and follow the steps carefully
I never heard the term bricking, but very good call man.
HighLonesome is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 10-30-2016, 12:40 PM
pacubel
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 8
I know this is an old thread but I have a question, if I disconnect the skim and then reset the Pcm, the Pcm will not recognize the skim? My question is in order to disable the skim since I have programmed the key two times and it failed, I'm kind of desperate and had no money for a new Pcm or a new skim and keys

You need a little Guatemala
pacubel is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 10-30-2016, 12:44 PM
Timo_90xj
Web Wheeler
 
Timo_90xj's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland - on the European side of the Atlantic
Posts: 9,709
ZJs don't have SKIM keys. They have the immobilizer disabling signal built into the key fob.
WJs ('99-'04) Grand Cherokees were the first to receive the SKIM, along with XJs and TJs at the same time.

1998 Grand Cherokee 5.9 LX daily driver, 1.75" BB, 32" KM2s, HPD30 Eaton e-locker/D44a stock LSD, 4.56 gears, custom- fabbed tube bumpers and tube fenders,...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



1990 XJ Limited (4-door), 4.0 I6, AW4, NP242, ***rolled and totalled @ 165k miles***

***Under construction***
1990 XJ (4-door), 4.0 I6, AW4, NP242, PBR 42" tires, Unimog 404 portal axles, 110" WB, full cage + uniframe completely rebuilt, front 3-link + panhard / double triangulated 4-link rear,... ***SOLD***
Timo_90xj is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 10-30-2016, 04:11 PM
Uniblurb
Web Wheeler
 
Uniblurb's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central
Posts: 9,806
^ yep, exactly.

I looked at your intro post pacubel and with a 03 WJ you'll have better luck asking questions in the below WJ forum. Good luck.

https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/

96 4.0 ZJ Laredo, 2004 4.7L WJ Limited, 96 4.0 XJ (son's)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Uniblurb is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 02-04-2017, 07:51 AM
jeff04357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Will this method reset the vin# and mileage also? I want to replace the ECM without having the dealership reprogramming costs.
jeff04357 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 02-04-2017, 12:37 PM
Timo_90xj
Web Wheeler
 
Timo_90xj's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland - on the European side of the Atlantic
Posts: 9,709
It will only erase the adaptive memory, nothing more than that.

You need a DRB3 scan tool (or compatible) to do wonders within the PCM.

1998 Grand Cherokee 5.9 LX daily driver, 1.75" BB, 32" KM2s, HPD30 Eaton e-locker/D44a stock LSD, 4.56 gears, custom- fabbed tube bumpers and tube fenders,...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



1990 XJ Limited (4-door), 4.0 I6, AW4, NP242, ***rolled and totalled @ 165k miles***

***Under construction***
1990 XJ (4-door), 4.0 I6, AW4, NP242, PBR 42" tires, Unimog 404 portal axles, 110" WB, full cage + uniframe completely rebuilt, front 3-link + panhard / double triangulated 4-link rear,... ***SOLD***
Timo_90xj is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
possible to reset the TCM on a WJ? mailforjon ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 10-09-2008 04:48 PM
How to reset the ECU????? sethfosho ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 01-17-2008 01:35 PM
IAC reset help Yardman Harry ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 09-30-2007 05:29 PM
Question on Malfunction Light/OBD-II reset. KrisR ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 11-22-2005 02:07 PM
How to reset ECU mdevinc ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 8 06-06-2005 06:59 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome