Purple /black and white/ black wires behind head unit - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 26 Old 06-09-2013, 06:04 PM
dusterdude
Registered User
 
dusterdude's Avatar
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell
Posts: 2,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scopez
Don't forget to bypass the factory amp if you have the infinity gold package!
Scopez,how and why

dusterdude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 26 Old 06-09-2013, 07:20 PM
Mad-Duke
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Foothill Ranch
Posts: 32
My new aftermarket radio spex should handle the ohms and wattage better then the amp, now I just need to figure out the easiest way to bypass the amp

lol googling like crazy now !
Mad-Duke is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 06-09-2013, 08:34 PM
Mad-Duke
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Foothill Ranch
Posts: 32
Using the image below, I connected the Green/Red Striped to the Radio Blue/White Amp power and I can now hear sound.
However, After googling it seems like it would be best to bypass the Amp as it could cause impedance issues. Anyone know if there is a connector I could buy so I don't have to butcher my amp-side wires and splice them together?


Image Originally Posted: https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f20/s...j-here-673244/
Mad-Duke is offline  
 
post #19 of 26 Old 06-10-2013, 12:49 AM
Scopez
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Aiken
Posts: 1,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusterdude View Post

Scopez,how and why
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Duke View Post
Using the image below, I connected the Green/Red Striped to the Radio Blue/White Amp power and I can now hear sound.
However, After googling it seems like it would be best to bypass the Amp as it could cause impedance issues. Anyone know if there is a connector I could buy so I don't have to butcher my amp-side wires and splice them together?

Image Originally Posted: https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f20/s...j-here-673244/
Mad duke practically explained it for me.

94 ZJ Laredo. 5.2 Crate engine. 6in JKS SA Lift. 33in Destination MTs. ARB Front Bumper.
Scopez is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 07-30-2015, 05:37 PM
jasonak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
I have done the amp bypass,,,installed new radio have power but no sound,,,the ground wire is installed to back of radio,,,the on that had the little clip on it. ANyideas ?
jasonak is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 05-29-2020, 08:15 PM
98Jeep4.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Garage
how do you connect them to aftermarket radio?

Stock sucks even small add-ons is better then stock
98Jeep4.0 is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 05-29-2020, 08:29 PM
kg6mov
Hears the voices
 
kg6mov's Avatar
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cupertino
Posts: 16,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98Jeep4.0 View Post
how do you connect them to aftermarket radio?
You don't.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1984 F250, 460 BB, T19, work truck/future tow pig
1987 Mercedes 300D Turbo, the diesel daily, 30mpg in style

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas ZJ1 View Post
I heard someone yell "mall crawler" from the back porch. I'll go see who said that. Be right back.
kg6mov is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 05-30-2020, 05:48 PM
phatbuddha
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
Garage
Personally I would bypass the factory amp. Instead of hacking the wires on the amp look into buying a plug-n-play bypass. One recommendation is the "Amplifier Bypass - Scorpion CHR-5622". I found this information from a Youtuber Project Dan H. I went on Ebay and did a search and got a bypass and radio wire harness set for less than $9 bucks. I was running a Sony head unit with JVC speakers but once I bypassed the factory amp it sounded much more powerful and fuller.

Youtube link:
phatbuddha is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 07-07-2020, 12:00 PM
98Jeep4.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Garage
what if I wanted to run the factory amp to a aftermarket radio?

Stock sucks even small add-ons is better then stock

Last edited by 98Jeep4.0; 07-07-2020 at 01:04 PM.
98Jeep4.0 is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 07-07-2020, 01:09 PM
98Jeep4.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Garage
I had the infinity sound system

Stock sucks even small add-ons is better then stock
98Jeep4.0 is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 07-07-2020, 05:25 PM
kg6mov
Hears the voices
 
kg6mov's Avatar
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cupertino
Posts: 16,382
You can run an aftermarket head with the factory amp, just make sure the remote power wire is correct, harnesses will label it power antenna.

Otherwise you just run the power outputs of the new radio to the factory amp.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1984 F250, 460 BB, T19, work truck/future tow pig
1987 Mercedes 300D Turbo, the diesel daily, 30mpg in style

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas ZJ1 View Post
I heard someone yell "mall crawler" from the back porch. I'll go see who said that. Be right back.
kg6mov is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome