Noob here: Transfer case grenaded. Literally. It's on the road now. Literally. - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 66 Old 07-19-2009, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
gbauer
1999 WJ 

Noob here: Transfer case grenaded. Literally. It's on the road now. Literally.

Like the title says, I'm new here. I'm more of a race car guy: I own a 1998 BMW M Roadster that I track and daily drive. My Jeep, with 190,000 miles on it, is a nice backup car that hauls stuff. At least, it was. Now that my wife is pregnant, it was going to be a great car to haul the soon to be born kid in with 100,000 things that only my wife knows how to use in the trunk.

Now that the background is out of the way: I obviously need a new transfer case. It was on the list anyway, but now, well...

Pretty, huh?

First off, I think it just tore the transfer case and the transmission is actually OK, but I defer to you guys there. Secondly, what other things should I be looking for with respect to getting this thing back on the road? Thirdly, a friend of mine used to be a Jeep service adviser and told me that that particular transfer case was known to grenade. He mentioned that there is another case that's 2WD full time/ 4WD part time. The current one (don't know the model number) is all-time 4WD with a 4-Low shift option. Is this something that I can swap easily or would I have to change axles, etc. to make it work? If it's a direct swap, I'm seriously considering it for the gas mileage. Keep in mind: this thing will be a kiddie-cart primarily. We plan to just use it for long trips where we have to haul crap for the baby.

Sorry about not doing a detailed search first. I searched, but not too deeply.

PS: I made the final payment literally 2 hours before it blew up!

edit: 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo with the 4.7L V-8.

double edit: it's really a 1999 Jeep. I screwed up. I'm too darn used to working on the BMW and letting the Jeep sit that I naturally said 1998.