new PCM question - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-02-2019, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
SWB
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: olympia
Posts: 8
new PCM question

I have a 97 ZJ with 187K. 4.0

Got the ZJ running great after following the "12 step program" and was gaining confidence in it again. Then decided to install re-manned PCM I had ordered from Flag1. before finding ground issues.

New (re-man) PCM jeep shut down after 3 seconds, consistently. Key locked and unlocked Driver door and tailgate. No change

Re-install old PCM and no issues. Starts, runs and drives fine.

Is this because the new PCM is not compatible with my security system? (or its current state? I'm not the original owner)

Any suggestions welcomed and thanks in advance

Scott

SWB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-02-2019, 08:03 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,044
If the current PCM and security system perform as advertised, it sounds like they sent the wrong PCM.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-02-2019, 08:23 PM
klaxmaster
Registered User
 
klaxmaster's Avatar
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWB View Post
I have a 97 ZJ with 187K. 4.0



Got the ZJ running great after following the "12 step program" and was gaining confidence in it again. Then decided to install re-manned PCM I had ordered from Flag1. before finding ground issues.



New (re-man) PCM jeep shut down after 3 seconds, consistently. Key locked and unlocked Driver door and tailgate. No change



Re-install old PCM and no issues. Starts, runs and drives fine.



Is this because the new PCM is not compatible with my security system? (or its current state? I'm not the original owner)



Any suggestions welcomed and thanks in advance



Scott
Why get a new PCM? If it IS needed, just go to a junkyard and get one for 50. Chances are its still good and no one had pulled ot from the jeep yet.

Sent from my LM-G710 using Tapatalk

If it ain't broke, fix it with a larger part.
klaxmaster is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 02-03-2019, 04:40 AM
Camaro16
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belfast
Posts: 479
Put the old PCM in, if it wasn't causing you any problems - then return or Ebay the new one - they have sent you the wrong PCM, the new one has security and the old one did not.
Camaro16 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-03-2019, 10:23 AM
jtec
Registered User
 
jtec's Avatar
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 6,737
felt like changing the PCM

If it ain;t broke don't F with it.

Let us know customer service and any hassles returning the 'bad' PCM... for future referance

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.
jtec is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 02-03-2019, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
SWB
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: olympia
Posts: 8
Called Flag1 this AM. Agreed it is a programming issue. Said my jeep didn't have security (I thought it had been disabled or removed) and that the replacement was programmed accordingly but possibly didn't take. Asked if I wanted to try again. Told them yes. 2nd unit is being programmed and sent.

The greater emphasis was placed on the return of the unit with as much info as I could give so they could learn what went wrong. So far very easy to deal with and seemed on top of their game.

As to why I chose to replace it:

If you have ever dealt with a random no warning flame out situation(s) I shouldn't have to explain much here.
These units are prone to failure (proven), At this point of my life $187 is a cheap alternative to being insecure.
Weak grounds (all repaired now) can cause PCM and sensors to fail.
Darn near everything grounds through the PCM.
SWB is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 02-11-2019, 12:33 PM
97grand8165
Registered User
 
97grand8165's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Naples
Posts: 16
Part of what we have to deal with old jeeps. Mostly computer related .
97grand8165 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 02-11-2019, 12:43 PM
StPaul59
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St Paul
Posts: 1,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97grand8165 View Post
Part of what we have to deal with old jeeps. Mostly computer related .
Always the 4.0 it seems.. Why don't the V8s go bad? Anyone know?
StPaul59 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 02-11-2019, 06:15 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by StPaul59 View Post
Always the 4.0 it seems.. Why don't the V8s go bad? Anyone know?

Just an educated guess... the v8 boards were furnished by a different supplier.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 02-13-2019, 01:13 PM
97grand8165
Registered User
 
97grand8165's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Naples
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by StPaul59 View Post
Always the 4.0 it seems.. Why don't the V8s go bad? Anyone know?
The trouble is the computer thinking for the human and or motor.
97grand8165 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 02-13-2019, 02:00 PM
Crystina Tutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
does anyone know where i can order a replacement PCM for a 94/95 jeep grand cherokee laredo? i ordered one but it was wrong part and found one on ebay but the wires were cut at the base of the box to short to splice into place. I need one because mine caught fire under the hood and is a chard pile of plastic now. please if anyone as one with the wiring connected or knows where i can order one i would greatly appreciate it thanks
Crystina Tutter is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 02-13-2019, 06:44 PM
RedRiverT
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystina Tutter View Post
does anyone know where i can order a replacement PCM for a 94/95 jeep grand cherokee laredo? i ordered one but it was wrong part and found one on ebay but the wires were cut at the base of the box to short to splice into place. I need one because mine caught fire under the hood and is a chard pile of plastic now. please if anyone as one with the wiring connected or knows where i can order one i would greatly appreciate it thanks
kolakperformance.com probably has them. They guy that runs it posts on here (username "kolak").

Or you can go to a used parts junkyard and maybe find one. A lot of those places check their other locations and will have one removed and sent to them, then you can go pick it up.

You have to get one for the same type of engine, whether it has a factory security system or not, and whether it is originally from California.
RedRiverT is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 02-14-2019, 02:06 AM
Kolak
Vendor
 
Kolak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,901
If you need the connectors and some of the wiring, best to go to a salvage yard. Make sure it's the same model year/engine size as your ZJ.

I can assist with a remanufactured PCM. You can PM me here on the forum or email me at [email protected] and we'll chat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystina Tutter View Post
does anyone know where i can order a replacement PCM for a 94/95 jeep grand cherokee laredo? i ordered one but it was wrong part and found one on ebay but the wires were cut at the base of the box to short to splice into place. I need one because mine caught fire under the hood and is a chard pile of plastic now. please if anyone as one with the wiring connected or knows where i can order one i would greatly appreciate it thanks

Kolak Performance and Offroad
Member: Specialty Equipment Market Association
Telephone: 480 998-3661

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kolak is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 02-14-2019, 06:15 PM
jeep210
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 246
When I had my random engine stalling issue, my troubleshooting led me to the PCM. I got a reman from AutoZone and it has been running great since the change. I got charged a $10.00 core charge so I kept my old PCM. Figured I can get it repaired and used again if needed.
jeep210 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
12 Things You Can Do When Your ZJ Stalls ZeeJay1997 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 448 05-28-2019 08:14 PM
Overland PCM Question NW Hillbilly WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 01-02-2019 06:44 PM
PCM programming question rcroane TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 16 10-02-2018 10:18 AM
2010 5.7L WK PCM swap question Pepe73 WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 0 09-19-2018 08:00 PM
2001 GC PCM Question drickman9 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 15 01-30-2018 08:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome