Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

98 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.2 won't start

3K views 19 replies 8 participants last post by  3Recon 
#1 ·
This is my first post and I'm no mechanic. My buddy who takes care of my Jeep took a quick look and will be back later to see what he can do. It has been sitting for a month and this morning I left at 0500 to do some errands. She started right up as usual and I did a couple of stops--about ten miles or so. Went to the Post Office, came out and when I went to start it, it cranked fine (plenty of fuel) but when it started, it sounded like when you shut a car off and it wants to keep running. I drove it about 30 feet and that was it. It cranks fine but won't start. My friend connected his AutoScanner under the dash and nothing. We've checked all the fuses-- under the hood and in the right kick panel and they are all good. Speculation thus far is that it could be the computer. If so, where to get one? Thanks for any suggestions! Right now, I'm from Boston and have had the Jeep towed to his place in Connecticut. Yup, got my tired old feet planted firmly in mid-air!

#2 ·
When you first turn the key to the on position, does the check engine light illuminate? If no, something is most likely up with the PCM.

Check the wiring for the rear o2 sensor. Sometimes they get wrapped up in the driveshaft.

#5 ·
Might want to check the pin out for the OBDII port and see if its getting power and ground. I can provide a pinout from the FSM later on, dont have time to look through the FSM at the moment. The scanner should at least come on, even if it cant communicate with the PCM.

#6 ·
DLC pin#16 would be first place to look for 12v power for scanner. iS THERE 12V #16?

No start
have spark several plugs?
Have fuel pressure, ? use a gauge.

As someone cranks engine spray some carb cleaner into TB - did it fire and try to start on spray?

Attachments

#7 ·