2Likes
  • 1 Post By kg6mov
  • 1 Post By GOLDWING

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-24-2020, 12:00 AM Thread Starter
NWDC

2000 WJ 

'97 ZJ - Need Advice!

Hey guys, I'm new to ZJ's and have been looking locally (Portland, Oregon area) for a clean one to work with for an off-road/overland project. I'm interested in eventually installing a 4" lift and running 33s (nothing too wild), and doing the maintenance on my own. I found a really clean looking '97 limited with a 5.2 V8, 121,000 miles, 1 owner, old guy who can't drive anymore. Seems like the ideal seller but it has likely sat for a while, and hasn't had much but oil changes. They are asking $2300, which seems real reasonable in the area because these seem rare.

I'm going to inspect/test-drive it tomorrow morning and probably make a deal if it is clean. Is there anything in particular that I should look for on a '97? I used to have a 97 Ram with the 5.2 magnum and I know about the plenum gasket issue on them.

I'm pretty familiar with what to look for on used vehicles in general but figured i'd ask for some insight on specific '97 issues.

Any insight would be appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-24-2020, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
NWDC

2000 WJ 

Here's a picture:
Attached Thumbnails
zj1.jpg  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-24-2020, 12:45 AM
kg6mov
Hears the voices

1996 ZJ 

It's basically a really nice ram with a lighter duty transmission. Be wary of crappy front end components, expect to throw new arms/bushings at it if they can't prove it's been done.

Being a V8 it's got the 249 t-case, that means AWD and 4lo. If the VC in the case is burned up it will be noticeable on tight turns when the jeep is warmed up.

I don't know that I'd pay 2300 for one, but the market here is a little better I think. They are a solid platform and certainly worth around that for a good clean one in daily condition.
NWDC likes this.