Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

5.2L Rebuild advice?

7K views 49 replies 9 participants last post by  Spetie 
#1 ·
Hey fellow Jeepers! I've started an engine rebuild and transmission+t-case swap in my 95 ZJ. I'm going with a factory auto trans and I got an NP231 D out of a Dakota. Anyways, my real question here is what all can I or should I do while I have everything torn apart. Mainly concerned about the engine rebuild. I'm a competent mechanic and I'm not worried about getting the job done I just want a few pointers or things I should upgrade/fix/remove while I'm here. My 5.2 has about 250k on the dash so she's ready for some love. Anything you guys think of that might make my life easier now or in the future would be awesome. Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
Intake plenum pan is always a good upgrade to do while everything is accessible. Check cylinder heads for cracking and replace as necessary. That said, I'd rather spend my money building a 5.9 than a 5.2 if you can swing it.

Reactions: Timo_90xj
#3 ·
Another vote for just dropping a 5.9 block in.

I’d probably assume the heads want to be replaced, magnum heads are almost always cracked, even if it isn’t causing an issue yet. There are good aftermarket options for stock like iron or aluminum heads.

Plenum pan is a good plan, but an aftermarket intake is preferable if you want to make extra ponies.

#4 ·
All the standard stuff.

New timing chain + gears. Disassemble and clean oil pump pickup tube, don't forget to prime the pump. Remove / replace all freeze plugs, I scraped clean everything possible on the block and heads cooling passages interior, I used brass freeze plugs for better sealing. Many lifters on mine collapsed, I was able to restore normal operation by disassembling all followed by severe cleaning then reassembly.

The FSM does not specify thread locker on the flex plate bolts, to the crankshaft and to the torque converter. Thread locker is required.