YJ rear driveshaft/pinion angle - JeepForum.com
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 06-28-2021, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
WonkytheJeep

YJ rear driveshaft/pinion angle

Greetings Jeepers.

My beloved '87 YJ build (I didn't do the work, AMC 360 V8 & AX15) has spun off her rear driveshaft by busting the U Joints because the pinion angle from the transfer case to to the rear dif is way a lot. My new mechanic is telling me I need a yolk slip eliminator kit installed in the transfer case and a CV style driveshaft w/ a slip yolk.

Of course I've been quoted a few thousand to do this work. God help me. I'm a single science teacher who is in over her head. I just use this jeep as a back up vehicle when my truck needs maintenance. I need advice (and likely just a commuter car).

1. What do you think the value of this jeep is if I just patch her back together with new U joints & leave the wonky rear driveshaft as is?

2. What do you think the value of this jeep is if I have the above work completed?

3. Are there any other options I might have to fix this?

4. Anyone looking to purchase a YJ? Sob.

THANK YOU!!!!!

Attached Thumbnails
Wonky.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 06-28-2021, 02:21 PM
Luuca
Typical /f12 Hooligan

1986 MJ Comanche 

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonkytheJeep View Post
Greetings Jeepers.

My beloved '87 YJ build (I didn't do the work, AMC 360 V8 & AX15) has spun off her rear driveshaft by busting the U Joints because the pinion angle from the transfer case to to the rear dif is way a lot. My new mechanic is telling me I need a yolk slip eliminator kit installed in the transfer case and a CV style driveshaft w/ a slip yolk.

Of course I've been quoted a few thousand to do this work. God help me. I'm a single science teacher who is in over her head. I just use this jeep as a back up vehicle when my truck needs maintenance. I need advice (and likely just a commuter car).