YJ on a CJ frame - JeepForum.com
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 06-25-2020, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
1993 RedYJ

YJ on a CJ frame

I have a 1993, 2.5, 5spd, base Sport, all original, including the RUST.Finding a decent replacement frame, on a budget, doesn't seem possible. However, I found a good solid CJ7 frame, what would be involved using the CJ7 frame for my YJ drive train ? I see the width difference, 33" vs 29" , at the front frame rails,but I would like a CJ7 front clip, so this helps..
Has anyone done this ? I see frame repair kits, notably SafetyCap, but the sections needed exceed the budget.
Thanks for any input !

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 06-25-2020, 06:45 PM
Boojo35
1987 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
A few things come to mind. I am no expert on this swap. I have never done it and have never researched it at all but know that there are some big differences between the two. The skid plate will not mount, a YJ had the springs moved outboard and has wider axles. The motor mounts have to be different. The body mountings from a YJ to a CJ are different. They share some tub dimensions but the mounting points are not the same. The fuel tank and skid may or may not be different. Does the CJ frame have all the steering and gear box? Not sure but there may be a difference there. The list can go on forever and ever and would probably nickel and dime you to death. Not even getting into fuel and brake lines, brake cables, linkages, etc. etc.

Carefully research it. You may not find any info because it is kind of a downgrade IMO.

Don't get me wrong. I love both CJ's and YJ's but suspension and frame wise, the YJ was truly an upgrade.

If you cannot fix it with a hammer then it has to be an electrical problem.
post #3 of 24 Old 06-25-2020, 08:33 PM
bruinjeeper
Web Wheeler

1995 YJ Wrangler 

https://www.pirate4x4.com/threads/cj...-frame.404005/

the YJ platform is the ULTIMATE build platform. It's a builders paradise.