Weird Electrical Issue with '95 Wrangler Sahara - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-16-2020, 07:04 AM Thread Starter
CoconutSport

Weird Electrical Issue with '95 Wrangler Sahara

I've been having weird electrical issues with my 1995 Wrangler Sahara. My radio's speaker was only functioning on the passenger side. When I started playing around with the fader and balance, the right side would come on intermittently. Fast forward a few days, I replaced the head unit with a new one. Problem persisted the same. I went ahead and rewired the whole speaker side of the radio, including the sound bar, and replaced the front dash speakers, only keeping the original ground, accessory power, and constant power feeds. Problem solved (for the radio), but after this, my courtesy lights and dome light in the sound bar went out. I checked the fuse for heater/AC, and its not that. Also, my AC blower still doesn't come on. Any thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-16-2020, 08:40 AM
fishadventure
Web Wheeler

1989 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
negative(-) electric connections

The courtesy light circuit is constant pos(+) and the door switch(es) and scroll-wheel potentiometer combo switch merely complete the neg(-) connection. I think the courtesy light completes the ground at a single terminal at the driver’s door switch or is daisy chained to a single ground from there- I can’t remember exactly.

The stereo speaker issue was 99.44% unrelated to the courtesy lights. But your work may have disturbed something common to the negative connections for the other two issues.

Did you check for power to the AC at the plug-in under the dash? The fuse could be just fine with something else interrupting pos(+) to the unit. If there’s power there jumper the neg(-) wire to something and see if the fan comes on. That will prove that out.