Stroker Build - Outline & Parts...suggestions? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 45 Old 11-11-2019, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
Vernors
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Stroker Build - Outline & Parts...suggestions?

Hi,

Got a 4.2 with a problem so am probably going to swap in a 4.0 bored 60 over and wanted to ask for constructive opinions/suggestions

Already installed on 4.2.

HESCO MPFI, 1994 ECU
7120 Head
New Timing Chain

Considering a 4.0 swap as follows:

4.2 Crank
4.0 connecting rods
4.0 Block from 1996+
Keith Black Silvolite +0.060" bore pistons, compression height 1.380", dish volume 15cc
CompCams 68-235-4 210/218 degree camshaft
Mopar 0.043" head gasket
0.043" quench height
Meling High Flow Oil Pump
Bosch 0280155784 injectors
Adjustable Pressure Fuel Regulator
New piston rings
New bearings

Block to be dipped, decked and bored 60 over.
May grind out some of the chamber area of the 7120 to lower compression

I've never done this before, so a couple questions...and my apologies if they are newbie ones.

First, is this a good piston/cam combo for daily driving as well as offroad use?

How significant of an increase would there be over just swapping in the 4.0 with stock pistons, the 4.2 crank (budget stroker) and connecting rods?

Are the fuel regulator, injectors and high flow oil pump going to also be needed if just going budget stroker?

Got to keep the price down on this build, but since Black Friday is coming up I'd like to have the plans done before to benefit from any sales.

Thanks for the advice.....

Verns

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 Old 11-12-2019, 07:54 AM
KARamsay
1989 YJ Wrangler 

It is a bit off your discussion - and Extra $$$
I am very happy with the Yella Terra Roller rockers I installed.
https://www.quadratec.com/products/51103_500.htm

With building the engine I would suggest that it is NOT the head head or the block you are using - but the prep that goes into each of them:
Port/polish