Oil leak? - JeepForum.com
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 05-17-2020, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
taylorce1
1984 CJ7 

Oil leak?

Just replaced my daughters 88 YJ 4.2L with the one I had rebuilt for my CJ when she lost compression in cylinders 5 & 6. So now she has an 84 CJ block with a 4.0L head conversion. She didn't loose any oil during the initial 50 mile and 500 mile oil changes. Now all of a sudden she has a pretty serious oil leak.

Oil is dripping from inside the bell housing, when she told me where the leak was I initially though valve cover or rear main. Well it isn't either of these and the leak is definitely coming from inside the bell housing. The only think I'm thinking it can be is the threaded plug that is in between the upper and lower freeze plugs on the back of the motor. Could this have possibly backed out during her daily driving?

84 CJ7 Laredo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 05-17-2020, 04:16 PM
warrant311

I am pretty new to Jeep. Does anyone know if oil leaks are a big issue with Jeeps as opposed to other branded vehicles?
post #3 of 20 Old 05-17-2020, 04:21 PM
jsawduste
Web Wheeler
2006 YJ Wrangler 

Check the oil filter adapter on the side of the block. They are notorious leakers and often a rear main is blamed when in fact its the adapter.

The whole adapter can be removed. The nipple the oil filter threads on to can be threaded into the block and a Bosch 3330 or similar be used. Much better setup.

post #4 of 20 Old 05-17-2020, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
taylorce1
1984 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsawduste View Post
Check the oil filter adapter on the side of the block. They are notorious leakers and often a rear main is blamed when in fact its the adapter.
The block is extremely clean still. No leak from oil filter adapter. All the engine oil is coming from inside the bell housing. I'm just looking outside the obvious culprits before I pull the transmission or engine.

84 CJ7 Laredo