OBD I driving me crazy - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 09-24-2020, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
konoug2

OBD I driving me crazy

I am new to the Jeep family as I bought my 1995 YJ with a 2.5L about a year ago and it is the first jeep I've owned. Ever since I got it, it has had an intermittent CEL with code 51 for running lean. The code comes on at random times but does seem to be worse when its cold. After warming up if I turn it off and back on it will go away but then still come on at random while driving. From past experience I figured it was the o2 sensor that was going bad and worked better as it warmed up so I changed that and put a new Denso one in. Needless to say that did not fix the problem. A few months down the road and I had to do a head gasket on it so while doing that I replace the TPS, MAP, TEMP sensor and TEMP sender, new plugs, new wires and new fuel filter. When doing the head gasket I had the head resurfaced and ended up having to have the exhaust valve seats done also because the machinist said it looked like it had been driven with a CEL and that destroyed the seats. I am trying to get this figured out before I destroy them again.

Not only have I not gotten rid of the original CEL now it has gotten worse. With the same behavior of being worse when cold and intermittent (sometimes will go days with no light other times will come on 15 times in a 10 mile trip).
Now I get codes: 21, 22, 24 ( for some reason shows up twice in sequence of codes), 25 and 51.

I don't have a lot of experience with the OBD I system and it is driving me crazy as I can not figure out what is causing all this. I have a lot of experience with OBD II where it can give me more information.

Through all of this the Jeep runs great and seems to have no change in performance with or without the light on. Any help or information from someone with more knowledge on these would be great.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 09-24-2020, 02:26 PM