Front hub conversion using junkyard parts - JeepForum.com
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 03-06-2016, 08:08 AM Thread Starter
Cobra Jeep
1993 YJ Wrangler 

Front hub conversion using junkyard parts

As requested in another thread, I will attempt to do a write up of how I did a front hub conversion on my YJ using about 95% junkyard parts.

First off I will come out and say I am not very good at write ups, and I am not very good at taking pictures. Most of the time I get caught up in the work and just forget to take pictures. So if the write up is lacking, I'm sorry.

I have seen some people say a hub conversion is not worth the money "just the stop the front axle from spinning". Well that is only one of the benefits. It's not just the stop the front axle from spinning. It's also to get rid of the unit bearings, and also have lockouts. With lockouts, if you break a front axle shaft, you can unlock the hubs and drive home ok. With unit bearings, it's not that easy.
Also maintenance. With a hub conversion, you get real wheel bearings where you can service them. You can remove the hub, wash out the bearings, inspect, re grease and reinstall. Plus, when the time comes and you need new wheel bearings, they are a fraction of the cost of a new unit bearing.

Lastly, with my conversion, you are also gaining larger and better brakes. And, a high steer arm on the passenger side (thanks to WJ knuckles) So it's a win-win if you want my opinion. I wouldn't have done it if it had no benefit.

Ok, so here we go.
Let's start with the list of parts you will need from the junkard. Some parts can be bought new (I will mention which ones I bought new)

From a TJ, XJ, or ZJ: Later model one piece inner shafts with the larger 5-297x u-joints. I got mine from a 97 or 98 ZJ.

From a 99-04 WJ: Steering knuckles.

From a 77-79 ford F150 4WD (dana 44):
Outer axle shafts, spindles, wheel bearings, and wheel hubs.