LinkBack Thread Tools
post #181 of 782 Old 02-20-2020, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
cpia84
Web Wheeler

1990 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishadventure View Post
I would lean towards Lincoln. I have two 120V Lincolns that date to the 90s still going strong

With 030 fluxcore it will just barely be adequate for the sua perches. If you have some experience welding.

My opinion. I did my 8.8 with one
I am leaning towards the Lincoln too. Lowes has it and i get my military discount there so its the same price as the Hobart one then. I have heard nothing but good things with their longevity.

I have some experience with welding and I will use this as a good opportunity to hone in my skills.

This is also a great chance for me to get a new tool!!!

YJOTM: Jan 2021

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #182 of 782 Old 02-21-2020, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
cpia84
Web Wheeler

1990 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
Last night I talked to the local driveshaft shop that fixed my driveshaft this past summer. I asked them about doing the welds and install on the 8.8, they told me they can do it and it would cost $50/hr. That is half the cost compared to ECGS. I am going to be stripping down and preparing the 8.8. Ill also have the brakes rebuilt and e-brake lines. I am ordering the 8.8 swap kit from ECGS since it does look like a very solid and complete kit. I'm currently sticking with the 4.10s and I will just have the front re-geared and hopefully an Aussie installed as well. I am still going to be getting a welder since i have a few things i would like to do myself but with the 8.8 i rather have someone that has more experience than me do the welds.