Where should I start? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-16-2020, 07:53 AM Thread Starter
Frankenjeep918

Where should I start?

So I'm new to the jeep world I picked up my 93 XJ almost 2 years ago for $900 she was pretty beat up but got me from point A to point B reliably for a year and a half was given a car that was an upgrade do I parked her and started tearing her down to fix what I knew was wrong.
Now I want to start upgrading to take on some basic trails and be my huntin/fishin rig. What are some basic upgrades that I need to tackle for basic off-road reliability? Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 09-16-2020, 11:17 AM
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents

2000 XJ Cherokee 

The XJ Cherokee is very capable off-road in stock condition. At the very minimum you should install: more aggressive than stock tires, skid plates, and self-recovery points front and rear. For the front you can buy reproductions of the factory original frame mounted tow hook brackets. For the rear you should install a Class-III frame mounted hitch. Depending on where you live, these parts might be found at the junkyard in rust free condition. Make sure all the hoses, u-joints, ball joints, and steering components are in top condition.

You might consider a one to two inch suspension lift for a bit more ground clearance. A locking rear differential is also beneficial.

When the people find that they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the Republic.

- Benjamin Franklin
post #3 of 3 Old 09-17-2020, 03:23 AM
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7 

Tyres - she will take 30" tyres in stock form. If you want trails and few highways you can look for some mud terrains etc. Without lockers, good tyres and the 4x4 will get you most places.