Trans fluid flush - JeepForum.com
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 10-23-2019, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Mddouglas

2001 XJ Cherokee 

Trans fluid flush

I am new to anything mechanic like but want to learn. I have a 2001 Cherokee sport xj and it needs a trans fluid change and flush. I drained the pan and put the new filter in. I put 4 quarts more fluid in to make up for what was lost in draining the pan. I know I need to flush the rest out but the trans return line has weird connector that is pain to get off. How do I get it off ? I'm pretty sure this what I need flush it from but I could be wrong any tips or advice?

Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20191023_143407_1571869922918.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 Old 10-23-2019, 06:13 PM
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents

2000 XJ Cherokee 

Old fluid line fittings like to self destruct when you try to mess with them. I would suggest you do the lazy guy flush. Drive 50-100 miles, drain the trans fluid from the pan with the drain plug, and refill. Repeat 2 -3 times until the fluid looks fresh. If you really want to do it all at once, it looks like the other hose has a regular hose clamp on it.

Once my Dexron-III/Mercon trans fluid is fresh, I drain the pan and refill once a year.
dented likes this.

A recent Gallup public opinion poll shows the NRA, at 58% approval, has a higher approval rating than either Hillary Clinton or Barack Obama.

Progressive Liberalism: Bringing you new Healthcare ideas so wonderful, they have to include mandatory participation ...

Originally Posted by Ronald W. Reagan: Government is not the solution to our problems; Government is the problem.
post #3 of 35 Old 10-23-2019, 07:26 PM
2oldjeeps
2000 XJ Cherokee 

i got mine at 168000 and did drain/ fill three times in 3 months.'thats probably the best it ever saw.
at 179000 it feels like new

99wj,143,000 miles
00xj,177,000 miles
10hummer3,74,000 miles
98xj,130,000 miles