• 1 Post By cruiser54
  • 1 Post By jeepguy03
  • 1 Post By axlaxl

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-28-2020, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
axlaxl
2000 XJ Cherokee 

Loose Rear End in the Rain

So today marks the second time in the last month or so that I took a clover leaf entry/exit to a highway in the rain and the rear end let loose on me.

Both times it was steady rain and I was going very slow, like 20-25mph and the rear just swung out on me. Fortunately I learned to drive on a 72 VW Beetle and the rear would get loose on any left hand turn when it rained so i'm a decent expert at correcting a sliding rear end.

But, if i had been going a normal speed like 35 mph I honestly think both situations would have turned out much worse. This is my second XJ so I've got a lot of experience driving them in different conditions and never had this happen before.

I don't think its my driving habits. So I'm starting to think its the tires. The thing is, they have a decent about of tread still on them, but, my mechanic did say they are "choppy".

I'm currently running 30x9.5 BFG All Terrain A/T at around 38 psi due to the pot holes all over NYC.

At this point I think I am just going to buy a new set of tires and try to sell the old ones, but just wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience with an XJ.

Until then, should I lower the PSI? Could it be the shocks starting to get soft (something I've noticed lately)?

Any advice or opinion or general banter is always appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 03-28-2020, 04:41 PM
jtec
Web Wheeler

2014 JK Wrangler 

tires was my first thought - what tire size info is listed on the driver door decal?

Your rear diff is not locked, ie a locker, anything in rear of jeep 30 cases of beer?
xjpro likes this.

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.
post #3 of 13 Old 03-28-2020, 05:24 PM
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents

2000 XJ Cherokee