Long life antifreeze / coolant - trust it to last longer? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-16-2021, 08:26 PM Thread Starter
jbirdTX
2001 XJ Cherokee 

Long life antifreeze / coolant - trust it to last longer?

I changed my antifreeze in my '01 XJ almost 3 years and 30,000 miles ago with the Prestone long life antifreeze that claims to last up to 5 years or 150,000 miles. The original maintenance schedule recommended changing it at 2 years or 30,000 miles. I want to see if other people trust the long-life claim or have experience with extending their service interval with long-life antifreeze. Do you save your time and money and trust the 5 years / 150,000 mile claim, and maybe just check your antifreeze with a tester at some point? Or, would you just stick with your original maintenance schedule?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 10-16-2021, 08:37 PM
Boojo35
1987 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
Nothing lasts forever. I am a master tech of over 40 years. It is the shortest way to post this. I will say this again. Nothing lasts forever. Which is cheaper? Changing fluids too often or doing major repairs?

If you look at a vehicles factory maintenance schedule. I do not care who you are or where you drive. If you really read the schedules, your vehicle will qualify for severe maintenance rather than normal driving. This moves all maintenances forward by mileage and time.

Dont mess with extending the life of coolant. The downsides are plugged heater cores for instance which become more and more labor intensive in newer vehilces.

If you cannot fix it with a hammer then it has to be an electrical problem.
post #3 of 6 Old 10-16-2021, 09:17 PM
nathan915

2000 XJ Cherokee 

Garage